6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 12:24 pm

All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 212 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 15  Next
 Post subject: Micro UK101 Build
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:19 pm 

A message from the original poster.

This thread is about my build of a Micro UK101, a Compukit UK101 replica comprised of readily available, standard components. It was designed by Grant Searle and can be seen on his UK101 hardware page here : http://searle.hostei.com/grant/uk101/uk101.html. The result is a useable hobby computer that can be programmed in BASIC or 6502 machine code.

There is a good deal of useful information and advice on the thread and because I'm fairly new to this sort of thing, the questions I asked were suitable for someone starting out.

Should you decide to build one, you may be interested in a small tweak to the clock circuit which is discussed later on in the thread (see here -> http://forum.6502.org/viewtopic.php?p=14221#14221). I had to do this because the original clock circuit didn't work when I built it (even after doing it a second time round on a separate board). However, since it's so easy to change, I'd advise building the circuit as-is and only modifying it if you have problems.

This is a great little project to get you started in the world of retro hardware hacking, and as you'll see from the thread, we have here a helpful community of active experts, so you should be able to get all the help you need if you have difficulties (like I did).

Good luck with your build!

JonB / micro_brain

Hi all