6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Tue May 21, 2024 9:19 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Voltage and Current
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2022 7:04 pm 

Hello everyone!

I feel like my question deserves to be here in the Newbie section. I don't mind that, I am still new to all of this.

Been trying to configure my new color scheme for VGA output. Nothing new there for me. I use resistors to bring 5V down to a range of 0V to 0.7V, super straight forward.

What I never considered was the current. I am using falstad.com for simulation purposes, and I'm seeing that even my most basic circuit to display a white color is taking around 25mA. All of this coming from a single 74HC166. Here is a link to the datasheet, https://assets.nexperia.com/documents/d ... HCT166.pdf. According to the datasheet (if I'm reading this correctly) it is only able to supply 25mA of output current. Is this correct?

So then, I'm barely within margin! That is not good.

My new planned configuration that is more complicated and using diodes seems to take around 40mA. If I am understanding all of this correctly, then that would not work at all. Right? Not just to a monitor, but what in general are the effects of not having enough amps to power something? Sporadic behavior? "Always off"?

Likewise that would be 40mA going through a 1N914 diode. I see on it's datasheet that it is rated up to 200mA, I think, so this shouldn't be a problem, correct? If I am pushing margins on current supplied to a diode, would it just get hot? Could it explode?

I am not an electrical engineer, obviously. This is 101 material for most of you. Any help and clarification is much appreciated.

Thank you everyone!

Chad

Post subject: Re: Voltage and Current
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2022 7:46 pm 

Hi Chad,