6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 4:32 pm

All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 564 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 38  Next
 Post subject: POC Computer Version One
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 2:07 am 

For activity related to POC V1.2, please go here.

For activity related to POC V1.3, please go here.

For activity related to POC V1.4, please go here.
———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————
POC = Proof of Concept

I’ve been working with electronics since the late 1950s and on computer hardware since 1970.  However, I’ve never scratch-built a computer.  So here’s the first try.

Assuming this things actually flies, I will then work on developing a more ambitious system that might actually be useful for something other than holding down my workbench (beats me what that something might be, though).  However, I’m a firm believer in learning how to make a single-engine plane fly before building that four-engine jumbo jet.

The hardware consists of a W65C816S MPU, 52K of addressable RAM, 8K of addressable ROM, an NXP 2692 dual ACIA (aka “DUART”) talking with a MAX238 line driver, and a Dallas Semi DS1511 real-time clock.  The latter has a watchdog timer, as well as a TOD clock, calendar and NVRAM.  The watchdog can be arranged to generate periodic interrupts, with a period as short as 10ms.  This would make it a natural source for a jiffy IRQ in a multitasking system...in a later design, of course.

The 2692 ACIA has two independent channels, each of which can be run at speeds up to 115.2 Kbps if desired.  TIA-232 (aka RS-232) outputs are presented at a dual 8P8C jack wired to conform with the arrangement used with Equinox SST serial interface units.  This hookup will permit me to attach one of my old WYSE 60 terminals to serial port A to act as a console.  Serial port B can be used to talk with another machine, e.g., my UNIX software development system.