6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 10:37 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:49 pm 

It seems like it's been a few years since any new hardware interfaces have been made public to program EEPROMS from the PC. Chris Ward's approach seems the best I've seen so far, but I have zero experience controlling PC ports. What are you guys using hardware and softwarewise to develop a 6502 OS.

In the past with the C-64 expansion port, I made an interface which controlled the 6502 reset, and had tri-state latches for the address and data to access the "ROM", which was actually a 2K static RAM where the OS was. Once the OS was programmed in the RAM, the latches would switch over control to the 6502 and would reset it.

Is there something similar I can do with the PC?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:48 pm 

My goal in this project is to go "piggyback" in an automotive setting. I need to measure/monitor 8 fuel injector pulse widths, with 16-bit resolution using 16-bit counters, also monitor camshaft, and crankshaft pulses using the on vehicle hall effect sensors. The last 2 sensors will be monitored using 2 high speed 8-bit ADC's. All will be displayed from the 6502 system on a LCD display.

I want to monitor pulse widths of the fuel injectors, to see the difference in values in different settings.

I hope you guys can help. The 6502 is THE best, and I've chosen it because I can program it in assembly, all other high level languages are greek to me. TIA

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:00 am 

Quote:
What are you guys using hardware and softwarewise to develop a 6502 OS?

DOS on a 12-year-old (or so) computer, with a high-res monitor (132 columns by 43 or sometimes 60 lines, instead of the old 80x24). With the Multi-Edit programmer's text editor that runs under DOS, I've had as many as 32 files open at once, windowed and tiled in different ways.