6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sun Sep 29, 2024 9:38 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Graphical LCD Display
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 9:02 pm
Posts: 1738
Location: Sacramento, CA
I just finished my prototype for displaying text on a 320x240 LCD display.

I used the same ATMega8 controller that I used for my composite text display. I am only using 320x200 as thats all the ATMega8's RAM can support but I still get a 40x25 character display. It uses the same 8 bit port with strobe & busy handshaking. An RS-232 interface could also be implemented if desired.

I bought the Optrex display from a local surplus store (they still have some left) and the power supply from jameco.com I don't think jameco sell it anymore but I did see it on a couple of other surplus sites.

If anyone is interested in building one, contact me and I can help find the necessary parts.

Here is a link to more details on my website:

http://www.softcom.net/users/darylr/io/vid4.html

Next, I'm working on a compact flash interface for mass storage.

Daryl


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 11:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 2:05 pm
Posts: 347
Location: UK
Very nice.

I've always chickened out and used the displays with the built in controllers, much easier than what you've done. 8^)=

Cheers,

Lee.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 5:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 9:02 pm
Posts: 1738
Location: Sacramento, CA
It may have been easier but those displays are much more costly. I spent $35 on the display and $9 on the power supply. And actually, the timing diagrams for the display were straight forward and easy to duplicate in software.

However, if you can find a reasonably cheap display with the built-in controller, all the better!!!

Daryl


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 5:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 618
Location: Meadowbrook
VERY nice. Personally, I would have done a dedidcated 65c02 all its own with a massive graphics toolset and commands, but thats me. I still am not hep on Atmels or microcontrollers because of availability 2 decades from now.

_________________
"My biggest dream in life? Building black plywood Habitrails"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 6:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 9:02 pm
Posts: 1738
Location: Sacramento, CA
It would be easy to do such. A 320x240 display only needs 9600 bytes to store the bit image. If you used phase 1 for the refresh, the 65c02 could spend all its time doing the graphics commands.

Daryl


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 1:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 2:05 pm
Posts: 347
Location: UK
I've been lucky, I found a source of 320 x 240 mono LCD displays with built in windowing graphics controller for a fiver each (about $10) and bought three. The hardest thing to do was source the -25v bias and 200vAC backlight supply before ploughing my way through the 148 page datasheet. The controller supports a background screen in either text or bitmapped graphics and up to three windows that can be any size up to a full screen size.

Just wish they were colour. 8^)=

Lee.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 9:02 pm
Posts: 1738
Location: Sacramento, CA
$10 huh? Wish my surplus store was that cheap!

Cheers!

Daryl


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 8:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 11:01 pm
Posts: 23
8BIT wrote:
I just finished my prototype for displaying text on a 320x240 LCD display.


I bought the Optrex display from a local surplus store (they still have some left) and the power supply from jameco.com I don't think jameco sell it anymore but I did see it on a couple of other surplus sites.



Daryl


Manuf link to the screen used: for about 67 bucks new that isnt bad for a screen.

http://www.optrex.com/Products/PartDeta ... -FW-ABE-AU

Nice job as always Daryl. I still need to build my sbc 2 here. Any ideas to make a color graphical interface in the future?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 1:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 9:02 pm
Posts: 1738
Location: Sacramento, CA
asm_2750 wrote:
... Any ideas to make a color graphical interface in the future?


I will probably do something using VGA 640x480 or purhaps 800x600.

But first, my compact flash firmware is waiting to be written.

Thanks!

Daryl


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 1:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 9:02 pm
Posts: 1738
Location: Sacramento, CA
asm_2750 wrote:
... Any ideas to make a color graphical interface in the future?


I will probably do something using VGA 640x480 or purhaps 800x600.

But first, my compact flash firmware is waiting to be written.

Thanks!

Daryl


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 8:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 6:32 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Bay Area, CA
Hrmm.. The ATMega32 has 2k instead of just 1k of memory. Might be a quick upscale of the design to add those last 40 pixels.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 8:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 3:21 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Toronto, Canada
Once again I'm impressed.

Daryl keeps coming up with such really neat ideas.

Cheers,

Brian


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 9:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 9:02 pm
Posts: 1738
Location: Sacramento, CA
Thanks! It is fun to create a new design from scratch, and rewarding to see it running. I won't tell you all about the hours I spent scratching my head because it wasn't working!!!

Yes, the ATMega32 would be a good candidate for using the last 40 rows. I had considered trying to write code to support a clock or something using that space, but then got busy and it never happened.

I hope some of these designs will find a use in other's projects.

Daryl


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 11:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 6:32 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Bay Area, CA
Yeah.... hopefully I'll be able to spend some time on it sometime soon, if you don't beat me to it...

The way I see it, stuff like that is cool and useful in ways that far exceed the bounds of the 6502 community. Swap the interface from an 8 bit parallel interface to a SPI or USART one, and the AVR and PIC folks can use it, for example.

Now I just gotta try and scare up some surplus LCDs of the proper specifications.. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: