6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sun Sep 29, 2024 8:31 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2011 7:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:08 pm
Posts: 20
Location: NB, Canada
Thank you all for the help, I finally got it going. This last problem was just a simple problem with my program and the address I was using to write to the 6551.

I have just 1 last question Michal Kowalski's Simulator to compile my program. my EEPROM is at E000-FFFF so for it to compile and use correct jump location with my lables I use *= $E00D but then my Programer (TOP853 using wintop6 software) wont load it correctly as it want to start at 0000. is this something I need to fix with the compiler or the Programer. If it maters I am using intel Hex files


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2011 8:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:41 pm
Posts: 250
kozlojak wrote:
Thank you all for the help, I finally got it going. This last problem was just a simple problem with my program and the address I was using to write to the 6551.

I have just 1 last question Michal Kowalski's Simulator to compile my program. my EEPROM is at E000-FFFF so for it to compile and use correct jump location with my lables I use *= $E00D but then my Programer (TOP853 using wintop6 software) wont load it correctly as it want to start at 0000. is this something I need to fix with the compiler or the Programer. If it maters I am using intel Hex files


Kowalski's needs to know where things are in the processor's address
space, but the programmer (presumably) doesn't know or care about
any of that, it only knows the PROM.

I suppose you could think of it as the address decoding doing translation
from the processor address space to the PROM's address space.

(I'm assuming you've got, like, an 8k prom that you're putting at E000)

In a similar fashion (since you're messing with a 6551)
Look at the data sheet for your 6551 it just talks about registers and
thier addresses without knowing where they'll be in your processor's
address space but if you're using Kowalski to do the software it needs
to know register 3 is at A003 so you might think of the address decoding
as translating from the processors address space to the 6551's address
space.

I'm just guessing. If what you actually have is eg a developement board
with programmer that knows and works in the processor's space then
that's something different but I gather that's not the case


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2011 11:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:08 pm
Posts: 20
Location: NB, Canada
I figured out how to program the chip correctly. Found the setting in the Topwin software. Was hard to figure out with badly translated sofware and manual.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: