6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 2:03 am

All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 558 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 38  Next
 Post subject: TTL 6502 Here I come
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:04 am 

Hello folks,

First post here and a big day for me.

I believe I now have a working model of a 6502 Logisim circuit that (I think) will translate well to a viable hardware implementation on 7400 series chips. It’s an important milestone on my way to building a TTL 6502 and (eventually) a C64 to host it. I was a complete newb to hardware design when this crazy project started (still am really), so this is a big deal to me. My first attempt was a totally impractical design (particularly the instruction decoder and sequencer which required well over a hundred nested gates and implemented only a heavily simplified version of the 6502 instruction set – see attached pic. It actually worked but what a monster!). I suppose it would have been advisable to start this foray into hardware design with a less ambitious project. Nevertheless, this is where I’ve landed and as you may be able to tell, I like jumping into things with both feet in any case.

There is no way for me to really know what will happen when I try to get this second (and much simpler) microcode-based design onto real chips, but I can at least be optimistic. I have tried to use only elements with ready 7400 series equivalents (no crazy 12 input gates, etc.), and tried also to meet their data sheet requirements as I went. Fingers crossed on how that will go. In the meantime, so far as I can tell, the Logisim simulation I have here is fairly accurate but with some differences worth noting. Here is a summary:

• Full 6502 instruction set, including all addressing modes, registers, decimal mode and RS, NMI, and IRQ interrupts,