6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Wed Jul 03, 2024 2:42 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 132 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:56 am
Posts: 390
Location: Minnesota
Quote:
(I can't say how pleased I was to discover that on linux I did
Code:
./HXA_TW.EXE pi.asm

and by happening to have WINE installed it "just worked" - your assembler is cross-platform after all.)



It's always nice to have one's favorite programming environment available, isn't it? That's probably why I'm still fooling around with Thompson AWK in the first place!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 11:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
I have noticed when using Bitwise's assembler, the org. starts at $FFFFF000 but the .bin file is 8K long meaning the org. is really $FFFFE000. When I try to change the .org to $FFFFE000 there are all zero's. Can someone confirm this?
Not really a huge deal at this point as I can change the reset vector in my hex editor, but something is skewed...

_________________
65Org16:https://github.com/ElEctric-EyE/verilog-6502


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
ElEctric_EyE wrote:
I have noticed when using Bitwise's assembler, the org. starts at $FFFFF000 but the .bin file is 8K long meaning the org. is really $FFFFE000. When I try to change the .org to $FFFFE000 there are all zero's. Can someone confirm this?
Not really a huge deal at this point as I can change the reset vector in my hex editor, but something is skewed...

My mistake, I forgot. It's 4Kx16. Not 8Kx8. My hex editor confuses me, even though I have it set up to display 16-bit data, it still thinks in terms of 8-bits, so the offsets are wrong. I guess I have no need for the hex editor now...

_________________
65Org16:https://github.com/ElEctric-EyE/verilog-6502


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 996
Location: Berkshire, UK
ElEctric_EyE wrote:
I have noticed when using Bitwise's assembler, the org. starts at $FFFFF000 but the .bin file is 8K long meaning the org. is really $FFFFE000. When I try to change the .org to $FFFFE000 there are all zero's. Can someone confirm this?
Not really a huge deal at this point as I can change the reset vector in my hex editor, but something is skewed...


4K of 16 bit bytes = 8K of 8 bit bytes

Edit: Ah I see you got there. Thats the problem with leaving IE open and going off to meetings

_________________
Andrew Jacobs
6502 & PIC Stuff - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/
Cross-Platform 6502/65C02/65816 Macro Assembler - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/dev65/
Open Source Projects - https://github.com/andrew-jacobs


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 11:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
Bitwise, how do we define Labels in your assembler?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 996
Location: Berkshire, UK
ElEctric_EyE wrote:
Bitwise, how do we define Labels in your assembler?

Code:
SomeLabel

Or
Code:
SomeLabel:

You can also have local labels (which can be reused elsewhere) provided they follow a global label
Code:
GlobalLabel:
  LDX #10
.Loop DEX
  BNE .Loop

_________________
Andrew Jacobs
6502 & PIC Stuff - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/
Cross-Platform 6502/65C02/65816 Macro Assembler - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/dev65/
Open Source Projects - https://github.com/andrew-jacobs


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 9:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
I've used local labels. I was able to see how you used them in your example boot program. They work as long as they're longer then 1 letter...

But I am trying to do something like:
Code:
   .CODE
   .ORG   $FFFFF000
   
   dcom = $FFFF0010
   ddat = $FFFF0011

CLRSCR:   PHA
      TXA
      PHA
      TYA
      PHA
      LDA #$2a   ;set x address
      STA dcom
      LDA #$00   ;start
      STA ddat


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 996
Location: Berkshire, UK
Looks like you are trying to define some 'equates'. So either
Code:
dcom = $FFFF0010
ddat = $FFFF0011

or
Code:
dcom .EQU $FFFF0010
ddat .EQU $FFFF0011

No spaces before the symbol name.

_________________
Andrew Jacobs
6502 & PIC Stuff - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/
Cross-Platform 6502/65C02/65816 Macro Assembler - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/dev65/
Open Source Projects - https://github.com/andrew-jacobs


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
No spaces. That worked...

Your program automatically converts a 6502 program to 65Org16? It sure seems like it does after copying and pasting a short 6502 routine I wrote using MK's assembler.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 996
Location: Berkshire, UK
ElEctric_EyE wrote:
No spaces. That worked...

Your program automatically converts a 6502 program to 65Org16? It sure seems like it does after copying and pasting a short 6502 routine I wrote using MK's assembler.


I built the 65Org16 assembler from the same Java source as my 6502 family assembler. Its uses the same parser but I stripped out support for device switching (.6502, .65C02, .65816) and extended byte to be 16-bits through out.

So if you feed it vanilla 6502 source it will come out as 16-bit code.

_________________
Andrew Jacobs
6502 & PIC Stuff - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/
Cross-Platform 6502/65C02/65816 Macro Assembler - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/dev65/
Open Source Projects - https://github.com/andrew-jacobs


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 11:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
Excellent!

Would it be too much trouble to increase the size of the boot.asm file to 8Kx16? The reason I ask is because I have 3 assemblers/disassemblers I'm looking at, and 2 of the 3 top out at 4Kx8. I'm looking to convert Micromon-64, Supermon-64, and/or Hashmon for my project.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 11:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 996
Location: Berkshire, UK
ElEctric_EyE wrote:
Excellent!

Would it be too much trouble to increase the size of the boot.asm file to 8Kx16? The reason I ask is because I have 3 assemblers/disassemblers I'm looking at, and 2 of the 3 top out at 4Kx8. I'm looking to convert Micromon-64, Supermon-64, and/or Hashmon for my project.


Just change the start address for your code in the source file (e.g. .ORG $FFFFE000) and the linker options to reflect the new code area
Code:
LK65_FLAGS = \
   -bss $$00010000-$$EFFFFFFF -code $$FFFFE000-$$FFFFFFFF

_________________
Andrew Jacobs
6502 & PIC Stuff - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/
Cross-Platform 6502/65C02/65816 Macro Assembler - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/dev65/
Open Source Projects - https://github.com/andrew-jacobs


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 11:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
Thanks for the quick reply.
How does one go about changing the linker file/options?
I tried pasting that code in the assembly and it's giving some exceptions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 996
Location: Berkshire, UK
ElEctric_EyE wrote:
Thanks for the quick reply.
How does one go about changing the linker file/options?
I tried pasting that code in the assembly and it's giving some exceptions.

The linker options are in the makefile

_________________
Andrew Jacobs
6502 & PIC Stuff - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/
Cross-Platform 6502/65C02/65816 Macro Assembler - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/dev65/
Open Source Projects - https://github.com/andrew-jacobs


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
I see it. Thank You. :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 132 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: