6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 2:27 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2002 8:59 am 

Hi all.

I have for years nursed an ambition to build a moderately sophisticated 6502-based homebrew computer on a par with the Apple IIe (though not compatible with it, per se). The ideal system for me would have at a minimum 256k of bank-switched RAM, a rudimentary operating system in ROM, a standard serial port, a connector for a standard PC keyboard, a video controller similar to that in the Apple II, and a controller for a standard 1.44MB floppy. Provision for add-on slots in case I get really ambitious, like say an IDE controller, would be nice.

Now here's the part that will probably make most of you laugh. While I am a professional programmer today and was, once upon a time, reasonably proficient with 6502 assembly language, I know jack diddly about electronics. Oh sure, I know electricity flows in circuits and I can tell you what a resistor and a capacitor are, but if you sat me down with a box of parts, I'd be hard pressed to do much more than connect a D cell to a flashlight bulb with a couple of wires. I know enough, basically, to be properly daunted by my ignorance.

So my question is: what books/software/kits should I invest in to follow the straightest possible path to my goal? I know this borders on the ridiculous, but I've got to do it, and I might possibly have enough spare time over the next several years to make a serious go at it.

Thanks,
Eric

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2002 5:06 pm 

Horowitz and Hill "The Art of Electronics" teaches everything (and more) that most people need to know.

Also valuable is obtaining the schematics for similar machines (bound to be a few on 6502.org) and staring at them, TTL databook and processor datasheet in hand, until you understand how they work.

Do they still print TTL databooks? All the datasheets will be on TI's web site anyway.

Post subject: