6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 1:35 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:01 pm 

The issue of an assembler for the fledgeling 65Org16 project has been successfully dealt with in this thread, but in future a C compiler may become a priority. Today I stumbled across some material that instantly made me think of the 65Org16.

Buried in a corner of Bill Buzbee's wonderful homebrewcpu.com site he explains how he retargeted LCC for "a 16-bit accumulator machine [which] addresses memory as an array of 16-bit words." The remarks are at the very bottom of this page.

Although I'm no compiler expert myself, and although there's not yet any need for a compiler for the 65Org16 project, I thought it might be helpful to post Bill's comments as the seed for an eventual discussion.

-- Jeff

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 2:46 am 

Interesting. I see that not only did he run across a number of the same issues we did (particularly the "hard-coded eight-bits-in-a-byte" assumption), he also uses terms in the same way we began to (eg., "a 'byte' is the minimum addressable unit").

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 4:29 am 

Very handy link - many thanks!
Ed

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 8:17 am 

That guy is a genius! Very interesting stuff and it sorta got me back to re-thinking of something that I would like to get done eventually.

It's a 6502 program that could translate a target program, written in 6502 assembly, into 65Org16...
Before I go on and make a total fool of myself, is this what Bitwise and Teamtempest have already done? or have they successfully made a 65Org16 assembler?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:41 am 

ElEctric_EyE wrote:
That guy is a genius! Very interesting stuff and it sorta got me back to re-thinking of something that I would like to get done eventually.