6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sun Nov 24, 2024 8:59 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 12:22 am
Posts: 8
So after almost five years, I resumed that old idea of mine to play with an old NMOS 6502 I found on a 1541 (timecode 3084, pretty much my age :D). See viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3102

I'm starting with some basic tests. I'm sending a 5V 100kHz clock signal to pin 37, and expecting Phi1 and Phi2 (pins 3 and 39 respectively) to return the same signal (inverted on Phi2). But to my surprise, I get a "high" voltage of 1V and a low of 0.4V.

I suppose that part of the chip is unaffected by anything else, so I can't say what did go wrong. Is my 6502 dead?

Kind regards,
Enrico


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 7:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:09 am
Posts: 8546
Location: Southern California
ris8_allo_zen0 wrote:
But to my surprise, I get a "high" voltage of 1V and a low of 0.4V. [...] Is my 6502 dead?

Is there something that could be loading it down? NMOS cannot pull up very hard like CMOS can. Otherwise, yeah, it sounds damaged.

_________________
http://WilsonMinesCo.com/ lots of 6502 resources
The "second front page" is http://wilsonminesco.com/links.html .
What's an additional VIA among friends, anyhow?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 8:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 660
Location: North-Germany
What was the scope probe setting? 10:1 would be ok, 1:1 is a little load - allthough 100 KHz isn't much. Did you try 1 MHz? (There is a minimum frequency requirement when operating the 6502, but I would not assume that the oscillator section is part of that limitation.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 11:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 3367
Location: Ontario, Canada
ris8_allo_zen0 wrote:
I'm sending a 5V 100kHz clock signal to pin 37
Have you verified that it really is a 5V signal (while pin 37 is connected, I mean)? Better check, if you haven't already. Also, you're using a 5V supply for Vdd, right? (Check that, too. I would do the same myself.)

-- Jeff

_________________
In 1988 my 65C02 got six new registers and 44 new full-speed instructions!
https://laughtonelectronics.com/Arcana/ ... mmary.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 12:22 am
Posts: 8
GARTHWILSON wrote:
ris8_allo_zen0 wrote:
But to my surprise, I get a "high" voltage of 1V and a low of 0.4V. [...] Is my 6502 dead?

Is there something that could be loading it down? NMOS cannot pull up very hard like CMOS can. Otherwise, yeah, it sounds damaged.

No, nothing else on the breadboard is connected to those two pins.

GaBuZoMeu wrote:
What was the scope probe setting? 10:1 would be ok, 1:1 is a little load - allthough 100 KHz isn't much. Did you try 1 MHz? (There is a minimum frequency requirement when operating the 6502, but I would not assume that the oscillator section is part of that limitation.)

The clock comes from an Arduino Due, I level-convert it from 3.3V to 5V before feeding to Phi0, and both voltages are OK without changing settings to the scope.

Dr Jefyll wrote:
ris8_allo_zen0 wrote:
I'm sending a 5V 100kHz clock signal to pin 37
Have you verified that it really is a 5V signal (while pin 37 is connected, I mean)? Better check, if you haven't already. Also, you're using a 5V supply for Vdd, right? (Check that, too. I would do the same myself.)

Yes and yes (4.67V actually, iirc). The only issue I found is an unusually high rise time, lasting around 1us over a 5us high pulse, due to the level converter. Is that an issue?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 12:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 8:09 pm
Posts: 1462
A 1µs rise time to CMOS levels would be normal for 74LS series logic, which uses TTL levels normally. It would be abnormal for 74HCT series logic which you could sensibly use as a 3.3V-5V level shifter (but not the other way around).

Check your 5V power supply. Is it at the correct voltage, and how much current is being drawn on it?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 12:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 3367
Location: Ontario, Canada
Chromatix wrote:
A 1µs rise time to CMOS levels would be normal for 74LS series logic, which uses TTL levels normally. It would be abnormal for 74HCT series logic which you could sensibly use as a 3.3V-5V level shifter (but not the other way around).
Um... right. I agree a 74HCT series inverter or gate would be appropriate as a level shifter. It can be powered by the same +5V supply as the 6502.

The level shifter you're presently using is not satisfactory for driving a clock input -- 1 uS is too slow; the 6502 can't operate properly with this. I hesitate to say it would actually squelch the output on pins 3 and 39, but it might. In other words, try a better level shifter. Only then will we know whether or not your 6502 is defective. :)

( 74HCT is preferred, but you also can use a 74LS series gate or inverter if a low-value pullup resistor is attached from its output to +5. I'd try 1k, or maybe 470 ohms or less. )

_________________
In 1988 my 65C02 got six new registers and 44 new full-speed instructions!
https://laughtonelectronics.com/Arcana/ ... mmary.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 660
Location: North-Germany
And did you properly bypass all Vcc's and Vdd's for each participant?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2019 7:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 12:22 am
Posts: 8
Dr Jefyll wrote:
The level shifter you're presently using is not satisfactory for driving a clock input -- 1 uS is too slow; the 6502 can't operate properly with this. I hesitate to say it would actually squelch the output on pins 3 and 39, but it might. In other words, try a better level shifter. Only then will we know whether or not your 6502 is defective. :)

I replaced the Due + level shifter with a Uno, that can provide a 5V clock. No noticeable change.
GaBuZoMeu wrote:
And did you properly bypass all Vcc's and Vdd's for each participant?

I didn't add bypass capacitors. Are they that important for such a basic test?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2019 8:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 660
Location: North-Germany
If your Vdd isn't stable there can happen weird things. Just give it a try :).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2019 8:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 3367
Location: Ontario, Canada
GaBuZoMeu wrote:
If your Vdd isn't stable there can happen weird things. Just give it a try :).

Right. The caps do have a function. And you have an experiment that's failing. Why hesitate? :)

ris8_allo_zen0 wrote:
Dr Jefyll wrote:
The level shifter you're presently using is not satisfactory for driving a clock input -- 1 uS is too slow; the 6502 can't operate properly with this. I hesitate to say it would actually squelch the output on pins 3 and 39, but it might. In other words, try a better level shifter. Only then will we know whether or not your 6502 is defective. :)
I replaced the Due + level shifter with a Uno, that can provide a 5V clock. No noticeable change.

Does it yield satisfactory rise and fall times for the clock signal applied to pin 37? They should be 10 ns or less, according to the R6502 datasheet I have here.

_________________
In 1988 my 65C02 got six new registers and 44 new full-speed instructions!
https://laughtonelectronics.com/Arcana/ ... mmary.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2019 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 12:22 am
Posts: 8
Dr Jefyll wrote:
GaBuZoMeu wrote:
If your Vdd isn't stable there can happen weird things. Just give it a try :).

Right. The caps do have a function. And you have an experiment that's failing. Why hesitate? :)


Trying with bypass capacitors helped me find out the actual problem. I realized I connected my 5V to pin 7 (SYNC) instead of 8 (Vdd). :oops: Now the clocks are working fine.

Thank you all for the help!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2019 5:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 660
Location: North-Germany
Congratulation :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 65 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: