6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Thu Nov 14, 2024 4:38 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 128 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 2:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 7:52 pm
Posts: 48
Hello guys.

The question of memory address became much clearer. But now I'm stuck at another point. I picked up my logic analyzer (8 channels) and plugged it into the ROM data bus (D0-D7).

My ROM is as follows:

0x0000 A9 (LDA)
0x0001 12 (# $ 12)
0x0002 4C (JMP)
0x0003 00
0x0004 80 (here it comes back from the 0x00)
....
0x077A 00 (NMI lo)
0x077B 80 (NMI hi)
0x077C 00 (RESET lo)
0x077D 80 (RESET hi)
0x077E 00 (IRQ)
0x077F 80 (IRQ hi)

Looking at the logic analyzer, let's say this is the time moment "t":

Image

If you look at the bus, it will:

80 (NMI hi)
00 (reset lo)
80 (reset hi)
00 (irq lo)
80 (irq hi)
A9 (lda)
12 ($12)
4C (loop)
00
80

So far I believe that everything is ok. At time "t + 1" time, it executes everything again, passing through the vectors. Should not it after the loop (8000) go back to the A9?

I do not know if my explanation was clear .. thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 2:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 8:09 pm
Posts: 1462
The "00 80" at the end of your trace is the address operand of the JMP (4C) instruction, not from the vector table. The cycle immediately following that *should* be the LDA fetch from address $8000.

You should therefore have a repeating pattern of 5 cycles (2 for LDA immediate, 3 for JMP absolute), on both the data and address lines. If you don't, you might be mishandling the IRQ or NMI signals, for example.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 4:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 3367
Location: Ontario, Canada
Chromatix wrote:
The "00 80" at the end of your trace is the address operand of the JMP (4C) instruction, not from the vector table. The cycle immediately following that *should* be the LDA fetch from address $8000.
Chromatix is right. The cycle immediately following $4C $00 $80 *should* be the $A9 (the LDA opcode that's at $8000).

Instead what got fetched is $00, which is a BRK instruction. (That explains why another vector was subsequently fetched. BRK is a software interrupt.)

But why did $00 get fetched? I believe it's because the fetch WASN'T from $8000, and that's because the JMP never happened.

One possible explanation is that $4C (the JMP opcode you intended) is not what the CPU saw, even though that's what the *ROM* contains. This can result from a wiring error, such as when some of the data bus lines get transposed between the ROM and the CPU. This will distort $4C (at the ROM) into something else at the processor. Please carefully check your wiring -- D0 to D0, D1 to D1 and so on.

(BTW, you're welcome to include images as attachments to your post. It's not necessary to use Imgur.)


Attachments:
LA trace.png
LA trace.png [ 30.82 KiB | Viewed 1421 times ]

_________________
In 1988 my 65C02 got six new registers and 44 new full-speed instructions!
https://laughtonelectronics.com/Arcana/ ... mmary.html
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 4:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:09 am
Posts: 8540
Location: Southern California
Is this:
Code:
0x077A 00 (NMI lo)
0x077B 80 (NMI hi)
0x077C 00 (RESET lo)
0x077D 80 (RESET hi)
0x077E 00 (IRQ)
0x077F 80 (IRQ hi)
just a typing error? The vectors should be at $7FFA to $7FFF of the 32KB ROM, not $77A to $77F. And if the processor is cycling through them, if it lands such that it's just seeing 80 00, that's BRA (Branch Relative Always, or BRanch Always) 00 which means it's not affecting the program counter any, so it just goes on the the next address. The reset sequence is six cycles long. This should be the first thing you see when execution starts. The NMI and IRQ sequences are seven cycles long.

_________________
http://WilsonMinesCo.com/ lots of 6502 resources
The "second front page" is http://wilsonminesco.com/links.html .
What's an additional VIA among friends, anyhow?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 7:52 pm
Posts: 48
Dr Jefyll wrote:
Chromatix wrote:
The "00 80" at the end of your trace is the address operand of the JMP (4C) instruction, not from the vector table. The cycle immediately following that *should* be the LDA fetch from address $8000.
Chromatix is right. The cycle immediately following $4C $00 $80 *should* be the $A9 (the LDA opcode that's at $8000).

Instead what got fetched is $00, which is a BRK instruction. (That explains why another vector was subsequently fetched. BRK is a software interrupt.)

But why did $00 get fetched? I believe it's because the fetch WASN'T from $8000, and that's because the JMP never happened.

One possible explanation is that $4C (the JMP opcode you intended) is not what the CPU saw, even though that's what the *ROM* contains. This can result from a wiring error, such as when some of the data bus lines get transposed between the ROM and the CPU. This will distort $4C (at the ROM) into something else at the processor. Please carefully check your wiring -- D0 to D0, D1 to D1 and so on.

(BTW, you're welcome to include images as attachments to your post. It's not necessary to use Imgur.)


Yes. I had imagined that a BRK was happening but I have no idea why. I will double-check the connection between the CPU and the ROM.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 7:52 pm
Posts: 48
GARTHWILSON wrote:
Is this:
Code:
0x077A 00 (NMI lo)
0x077B 80 (NMI hi)
0x077C 00 (RESET lo)
0x077D 80 (RESET hi)
0x077E 00 (IRQ)
0x077F 80 (IRQ hi)
just a typing error? The vectors should be at $7FFA to $7FFF of the 32KB ROM, not $77A to $77F. And if the processor is cycling through them, if it lands such that it's just seeing 80 00, that's BRA (Branch Relative Always, or BRanch Always) 00 which means it's not affecting the program counter any, so it just goes on the the next address. The reset sequence is six cycles long. This should be the first thing you see when execution starts. The NMI and IRQ sequences are seven cycles long.


Hi GARTHWILSON,

Yes. Sorry. It was a typing error. The correct is:

Code:
0x7FFA 00 (NMI lo)
0x7FFB 80 (NMI hi)
0x7FFC 00 (RESET lo)
0x7FFD 80 (RESET hi)
0x7FFE 00 (IRQ)
0x7FFF 80 (IRQ hi)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 7:52 pm
Posts: 48
Hey Guys.

I checked and checked again but apparently the wiring is correct. I had a question: could the 6502AP CPU be used with a clock equal to 1 MHz?

By manual the 6502AP is compatible with 2 MHz. Could this underclock affect the operation?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 3:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:09 am
Posts: 8540
Location: Southern California
The NMOS 6502's minimum clock rate is specified to be 100kHz. It will usually successfully run down at half of that—it's just that it's not guaranteed to. Anyway, 1MHz on a 2MHz part is no problem.

_________________
http://WilsonMinesCo.com/ lots of 6502 resources
The "second front page" is http://wilsonminesco.com/links.html .
What's an additional VIA among friends, anyhow?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 3367
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
I checked and checked again but apparently the wiring is correct.
Hmmm. You haven't yet shared the schematic with us, nor any photos. But if you'd rather figure things out on your own that's OK; we'll stop trying to guess what's wrong.

Here is a link describing the NOP Generator I mentioned earlier. You don't have to build one; if you wish you can do the test using your EEPROM instead, as I explained.

The resulting behavior is the same. A0 should invert once every 2 Phi2 cycles; A1 inverts every 4 cycles; A2 inverts every 8 cycles, and so on.

-- Jeff

_________________
In 1988 my 65C02 got six new registers and 44 new full-speed instructions!
https://laughtonelectronics.com/Arcana/ ... mmary.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 9:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10977
Location: England
Instead of dedicating all 8 channels of your logic analyser to the databus, consider swapping in the SYNC signal for one of them. You should still be able to follow along - if it's too hard, then take multiple traces, one with D7 swapped out, one with D0, and you should be able to line the two traces up.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 7:52 pm
Posts: 48
Dr Jefyll wrote:
Quote:
I checked and checked again but apparently the wiring is correct.
Hmmm. You haven't yet shared the schematic with us, nor any photos. But if you'd rather figure things out on your own that's OK; we'll stop trying to guess what's wrong.

Here is a link describing the NOP Generator I mentioned earlier. You don't have to build one; if you wish you can do the test using your EEPROM instead, as I explained.

The resulting behavior is the same. A0 should invert once every 2 Phi2 cycles; A1 inverts every 4 cycles; A2 inverts every 8 cycles, and so on.

-- Jeff


Hello Dr. Jefyll,

I'm sorry for not putting the schematic before. Attached I put as is the CPU with the ROM to test the code already quoted. Does it have something wrong ??

Tonight, I'll try to test with the NOP instruction. I will put the results here.


Attachments:
esquema.PNG
esquema.PNG [ 20.41 KiB | Viewed 1302 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 3367
Location: Ontario, Canada
hitlp wrote:
Does it have something wrong ??
No, it's OK... for the very simple tests you're doing, at least. And you said /OE and /CE are tied low, and /WE is tied high. (In a more typical setting this will not be satisfactory.) I did want to double check what you're doing, though. When assisting newcomers, we on the forum are constantly on the lookout for things that have been misunderstood or overlooked.

Quote:
Tonight, I'll try to test with the NOP instruction. I will put the results here.
Sounds good. Have fun, and keep us posted! :)

-- Jeff

_________________
In 1988 my 65C02 got six new registers and 44 new full-speed instructions!
https://laughtonelectronics.com/Arcana/ ... mmary.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2018 3:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 7:52 pm
Posts: 48
Hello guys

Make the data bus for expert 11101010 (EA) which corresponds to the NOP instruction. The image represents the address bar reading from A0 - A7.

Question: Does NOP run clock cycles? In my case, he is using only one. The frequency of the bus is:

CPU CLK = 1 MHz
A0 = 500 KHz.
A1 = 250 KHz
A2 = 125 KHz
A3 = 62.5 KHz
A4 = 31.21 KHz
A5 = 15.61 KHz
A6 = 7.81 KHz
A7 = 3.9 KHz

Is that correct? Thank you.


Attachments:
esquema2.PNG
esquema2.PNG [ 33.04 KiB | Viewed 1228 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2018 3:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:09 am
Posts: 8540
Location: Southern California
hitlp wrote:
Question: Does NOP run clock cycles? In my case, he is using only one. The frequency of the bus is:

CPU CLK = 1 MHz
A0 = 500 KHz
[...]

Is that correct? Thank you.

Yes, that is correct. NOP is one byte but takes two cycles, which is why you see 500kHz on A0 instead of 1MHz. At 1MHz, a cycle is 1µs, not 2. [Edit: I wrote too hastily. :oops: At 1MHz clock rate, A0 will change 500,000 times per second, not cycle at 500,000 cycles per second.]

_________________
http://WilsonMinesCo.com/ lots of 6502 resources
The "second front page" is http://wilsonminesco.com/links.html .
What's an additional VIA among friends, anyhow?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2018 3:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 8:09 pm
Posts: 1462
NOP ($EA) should take 2 cycles on any genuine 65xx family CPU. The first cycle reads the NOP opcode with SYNC high, the second cycle is a dummy read of the *next* byte with SYNC low.

Also note that a counter's least significant bit cycles at half the frequency of its trigger clock. It's very common to use counters as frequency dividers for that reason.

So with a 1MHz clock, SYNC should cycle at 500kHz, A0 should cycle at 250kHz, etc. If A0 is cycling at 500kHz, then something is wrong; the CPU is seeing a different opcode than the one ostensibly stored in your ROM.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 128 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: