6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Fri Sep 20, 2024 7:07 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 6:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:56 am
Posts: 276
Location: Lynden, WA
I don't need line drivers to connect my 6551 to a FTDI or similar USB to serial interface, right?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:02 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:09 am
Posts: 8510
Location: Southern California
Check the voltages and polarities of the model of interface adapter you want to use. (I say "and polarities" because the line drivers and receivers invert the polarity, not just translate the voltage.) The line drivers and receivers may or may not be needed. (If you don't have them, it's not true RS-232, but they are being left out sometimes to reduce the parts count, at the expense of being compatible with those things that truly are RS-232.) I have an FTDI USB-to-RS232 adapter that does have the line drivers and receivers and does the higher ± voltages.

_________________
http://WilsonMinesCo.com/ lots of 6502 resources
The "second front page" is http://wilsonminesco.com/links.html .
What's an additional VIA among friends, anyhow?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:56 am
Posts: 276
Location: Lynden, WA
I have this:

http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDet ... RS232-PCBA

I'm thinking it probably expects true RS232 levels. Thus I'm thinking its not the part I really want.

My short term plan is to use a 65c51 (the Rockwell part specifically) through a UART to USB connection to talk to my PC so I have a terminal. Any suggestions for a good part? Something on a dip would be sweet as a bonus.

I'm also wondering if just using a VIA connection to an Arduino would be a decent way to accomplish the same thing. By far the UART is my first choice though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:31 am
Posts: 1382
FTDI make USB-Serial interfaces that accept 5V TTL levels (like the 6551), 3.3V levels and RS-232 levels. I use the 5V and RS232 adapters, but if you're just looking to get a quick path to USB, just get the 5V version. I found this one on Mouser:
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/FTD ... 2R-5V-PCB/

I also use this one in place of a 9-pin D-shell:
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/FTDI/DB9-USB-D5-M/

Both support a 5-wire interface, meaning ground, TxD, RxD, RTS, CTS, which is the proper way to wire up the 6551 as a console. Most terminal programs (like ExtraPutty) will support RTS/CTS flow control.

_________________
Regards, KM
https://github.com/floobydust


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:56 am
Posts: 276
Location: Lynden, WA
Floobydust, that looks perfect. Its pretty much the part I thought I was getting when I ordered the one I linked to.

Sometimes Mouser filter options kick my butt. I never saw the little TTL serial USB adapter you posted when I searched. Just the RS232 level one. I think I even made 5v logic a filter parameter. I probably got unlucky and had some filter options selected that your part didn't qualify for.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:56 am
Posts: 276
Location: Lynden, WA
just so I'm sure I don't make another mistake...

If I get the second part you posted (the thing that's advertised as a direct replacement for a db-9 connector), it hooks directly to the UART with nothing in between, and I get a USB connection?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:31 am
Posts: 1382
Correct, the DB-9 (5V) version is designed to replace the connector and bypass the level shifter. Also note that FTDI also make these for 3.3V and RS232 levels. Also note that they make them in both male and female pinouts, i.e., they are reversed on the PCB layout. Also be aware that the DB-9 versions do not provide any power to the PCB interface while some other ones do, meaning you "could" power your board from the USB connection with certain adapters.

_________________
Regards, KM
https://github.com/floobydust


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:56 am
Posts: 276
Location: Lynden, WA
perfect. I just ordered two. So for my purposes, there's o reason to care if I get a male or female version, correct? My perception is that that is only important if you are swapping a DB-9 for this on an existing PCB. Do I have that right?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 9:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:00 am
Posts: 2353
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands
Be careful when ordering cheap TTL-USB converters from Ebay or Aliexpress. I've tried several, and only a few worked correctly.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 9:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:31 am
Posts: 1382
Look at the pinouts between the male and female and also realize the application. Pins 1-9 are reversed between the two. Also note that RI doesn't exist on the 6551 so that pin is unused. In any case, you can simply directly connect to the 6551.

_________________
Regards, KM
https://github.com/floobydust


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:56 am
Posts: 276
Location: Lynden, WA
I used Mouser.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 4:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:46 pm
Posts: 8389
Location: Midwestern USA
Dan Moos wrote:
I have this:

http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDet ... RS232-PCBA

I'm thinking it probably expects true RS232 levels. Thus I'm thinking its not the part I really want.


The unit you have expects TIA-232 voltage swings as input and outputs TIA-232 voltage swings. Hence you will need a suitable transceiver between your 65C51 and the FTDI device. A MAX232 will work.

Quote:
I'm also wondering if just using a VIA connection to an Arduino would be a decent way to accomplish the same thing.

The Arduino would be a crutch in this application. You won't learn anything useful that way. :D

_________________
x86?  We ain't got no x86.  We don't NEED no stinking x86!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 1:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:38 pm
Posts: 588
Location: Michigan, USA
Late to the party, but... You can get the Microchip MCP2221 USB-to-UART bridge in a 14-pin PDIP package.

Cheerful regards, Mike


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 5:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:28 pm
Posts: 59
I started playing with microchip's converter but it looks like it has to be configured to match the baud rate of the uarts on each end and I can only find windows software to do so.

I was thinking of trying this one
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Sil ... VSGAFOI%3d


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RS232 line drivers
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 4:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:56 am
Posts: 276
Location: Lynden, WA
Ok Floobydust, I have that male DB-9 to USB 5v FTDI adapter you suggested.

I am getting serial data out of the ACIA to the PC just fine. I do have to hardwire the ACIA's CTS pin to ground to get things to work. Hooking it to the FTDI adapter, it never goes LOW.

I can't get stuff out of the PC though. With my scope probe hooked to the RxD pin (the pin that according to the datasheet with a MALE adapter should go to the RxD pin on the UART), I can't get any action out of it. It just sits HIGH.

I feel that maybe I'm doing something wrong with the handshake lines. I've tried a few things, but not everything.

I'm using RealTerm on Windows. When I send stuff TO the terminal, it looks perfect.

I haven't tried to use my ACIA to request data. My test in that direction has just been scoping that pin, and trying to send stuff out with RealTerm.

I just want to test the thing, so I'm just wondering what the bare minimum that needs to happen for that to work is.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: