6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Fri Sep 20, 2024 6:34 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:32 pm
Posts: 38
Afternoon all!
I'm new to 6502 assembly but i'm having a weird issue that has me at my wits end. Here is the code i've written

Code:
   PROCESSOR 6502

;-------------------------------------------------
;-------------DANI-I-SYSTEM-ROM-------------------
;-------------------------------------------------

;-------------EQUATES-----------------------------
VRAM:          EQU $8000
VRAM_H:         EQU $80
VRAM_L:         EQU $00
VRAM_CMD:      EQU VRAM + $F00
VRAM_CHARSLOC:   EQU VRAM + $F10
VRAM_CHARSBUF:   EQU VRAM + $F20
;-------------EO-EQUATES--------------------------

   ORG $C000
RESET:
   LDX #$FF    ; Initialize the Stack Pointer
   TXS         ; Transfer X to Stack
SETUP_BLANKCHAR:
   LDA #$00    ; Store Null in Accu
   LDY #$00    ; Set Y to 00
   LDX #$00    ; Set X to 00
LOOP_BLANKSTORE:   
   STA VRAM_CHARSBUF,X  ; Store Accu into VRAM_CHARSBUF+X
   INX
   CPX #$08
   BNE LOOP_BLANKSTORE
   STA VRAM_CHARSLOC ; Set the Character Store Location
   LDA #$01          ; Set the Character Store Command
   STA VRAM_CMD   
CHECK_CMDCOMPLETE:
   LDX VRAM_CMD          ; Keep Loading and Check VRAM_CMD to see if VGA picked up Character
   CPX #$00          
   BNE CHECK_CMDCOMPLETE ; Keep Checking if it's not been set to 00
BLANKOUT_START:
   LDA #$00           ; Set Accu to 0
   LDX #$00           ; Set X Counter to 0
   LDY #$00           ; Set Y Counter to 0
   LDA #VRAM_L           ; Load Accu to Low Byte of VRAM
   STA $05              ; Store it in Zero Page 5
   LDA #VRAM_H           ; Load Accu to High Byte of VRAM
   STA $06              ; Store it in Zero Page 6
LOOP_BLANKOUT:
   LDA #$00           ; Set Accu To 0
   STA ($05),Y           ; Store it in VRAM + Y
   CPY #$B0           ; Does Y eq B0 ?
   BEQ CHECK_X           ; it does? Got to Check_X
LOOP_CONTINUE:
   CPY #$FF           ; X is not 04 and Y is not B0 Is Y FF?
   INY                  ; Increase Y
   BNE LOOP_BLANKOUT     ; It's not FF yet Go to LOOP_BLANKOUT
LOOP_INC_X:              ; Y = FF
   LDY #$00           ; Set Y back to 0
   INX                 ; Add 1 to X
   INC $06            ; Add 1 to Address 6
   JMP LOOP_BLANKOUT     ; Back to the LOOP_BLANKOUT
CHECK_X:
   CPX #$04         ; Is X 04? Making this 2820?
   BNE LOOP_CONTINUE
LOOP_DONE:
   JMP BLANKOUT_START      ; we hit 2820 - done
VECTORS:
   ORG $FFFA   ; 6502 Starts reading it's vectors here
   .word LOOP_DONE ; NMI
   .word RESET     ; RESET
   .word LOOP_DONE ; BRK
   
   END


The problem is with the indirect addressing when "STA ($05),Y", it all works as expecting until Y = the High Byte Address, "06", when that happens 05 gets overwritten with the value of address 06 and then it continues to count as expected. If I change the ZP addresses it does the same with the new address's. For example when I had the addresses set to 10 and 11, whenever Y = 11 the value of 10 was overwritten with the value of 11 and then it continues to count as expected. When I run this code in a simulator it works fine. Any help in any direction would be huge, as this has brought my project to a halt for the time being.

Thanks!


Last edited by ChaseHQ85 on Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10938
Location: England
Welcome!

Something fishy about this bit:
Code:
   CPY #$FF           ; X is not 04 and Y is not B0 Is Y FF?
   INY                  ; Increase Y
   INC $06
   BNE LOOP_BLANKOUT     ; It's not FF yet Go to LOOP_BLANKOUT


In an inner loop, you'd increment Y. You'd only increment your high byte if Y wrapped. But here, you're performing a comparison but doing nothing about it - probably you intend a branch here.

As it is, it looks like you always increment both Y and the high byte, which means your pointer is probably advancing much faster than you intend.

Perhaps it's just that the INC $06 is superfluous at this point?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:32 pm
Posts: 38
Sorry that line of code is not in the working copy im using now. That was accidentally left in here from debugging and trying to see if there was a different method i should be using for increasing the deref address. I've changed it so it actually reflects what is happening. But as it stands im still having that same issue :cry:

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 3367
Location: Ontario, Canada
Welcome :)

Code:
   CPY #$FF           ; X is not 04 and Y is not B0 Is Y FF?
   INY                  ; Increase Y
   BNE LOOP_BLANKOUT     ; It's not FF yet Go to LOOP_BLANKOUT

Better, but still a little fishy. :wink: The CPY will update the flags but so too will the INY. So really the BNE tests whether Y is zero.

It's part of the learning curve for 65xx assembly language. Many of the instructions update the flags! The chip is made that way for good reasons. But sometimes it catches people off guard.

_________________
In 1988 my 65C02 got six new registers and 44 new full-speed instructions!
https://laughtonelectronics.com/Arcana/ ... mmary.html


Last edited by Dr Jefyll on Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10938
Location: England
Nothing seems to go to the label
LOOP_INC_X
so - is it unnecessary? Or is there some branch to it that's gone missing?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:32 pm
Posts: 38
Thanks so much for all the quick responses! :)

Yes i know the code looks a little funky (as im brand new to 6502) but it is intended to check to see if its FF then roll it to 0 and branch back to beginning. The problem im having is not so much with that section of the code but when Y is equal to the High Byte Index of the Indirect Address. For some reason it sets the Low Byte to the same value of the High Byte at that point and im not really understanding why.

Here is an example

ZP 05 = 00
ZP 06 = 80

Y = 00
STA (05),Y = $8000
Y = 01
STA (05),Y = $8001
and etc...
Except when Y = 06 Then
STA (05),Y = $8080 ???
Then
Y = 07
STA (05),Y = $8087 ... continues on normally

I cannot for the life of me figure out why it does this. Even when i adjust the ZP indexes to some other numbers, when Y equals the High Byte Address it sets the Low Byte to that value.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:32 pm
Posts: 38
BigEd wrote:
Nothing seems to go to the label
LOOP_INC_X
so - is it unnecessary? Or is there some branch to it that's gone missing?


Hey BigEd,
Yes that label was once in use and now is more or less a visual comment for myself. Thanks for the response!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10938
Location: England
It does seem very odd!
Are you running on hardware or an emulation? What assembler do you use?

One reason for tidying up oddities and inconsistencies is to make it easier to understand what's going on - even more important to those of us who are coming to the code cold.

(If you've previously programmed other micros you might have the wrong model of which operations affect flags. Not that this explains the gross misbehaviour.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:32 pm
Posts: 38
BigEd wrote:
It does seem very odd!
Are you running on hardware or an emulation? What assembler do you use?

One reason for tidying up oddities and inconsistencies is to make it easier to understand what's going on - even more important to those of us who are coming to the code cold.

(If you've previously programmed other micros you might have the wrong model of which operations affect flags. Not that this explains the gross misbehaviour.)


You guys are really a welcoming community! I appreciate that. Im running on hardware that I have built. The assembler is DASM and ive tested the BIN in Symon and it seems to work normally there. The code writes to the Video RAM at located at $8000-$8FFF - It's a custom FPGA VGA controller i created. 8x8 Characters on a 320x240 resolution screen. $8F20-$8F27 is a buffer to write a character to that you want to store in the VGA controllers RAM, $8F10 is a byte to assign that character to a location, and $8F00 is a register where if you put 0x01 there then during the next HSYNC it will write that to it's character RAM and clear that flag after its complete. $8000-$84B0 is 1200 bytes (ROW,COL) to assign a character index to. (First time ive ever created a VGA Controller but it seems to work very well when i drive it off a uController). All this code is supposed to do is blank the screen - writes a blank character to index 0 and set the entire screen to that index. It works well until it comes into this nasty weirdness that ive described in previous posts.

Sorry for the long post but I figured i'd give you as much background as possible.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10938
Location: England
Do you have a logic analyser or some kind of monitor which is catching these odd writes?

Often the answer is some kind of shorted address lines or build error. Is that possible?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:32 pm
Posts: 38
BigEd wrote:
Do you have a logic analyser or some kind of monitor which is catching these odd writes?

Often the answer is some kind of shorted address lines or build error. Is that possible?


Yes, ive created a bus watching device. Basically it just breaks into the bus lines for data and address and shows whats on it on some 7 seg LEDs. I was thinking it was a short as well but it follows the High Byte around. Ive tested each of the lines and address decoding and it all checks out. I used a 555 timer and made a 50% duty cycle every second to watch the lines and it's the weirdest thing. Only on indirect ref do i see it.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10938
Location: England
Could you swap out the CPU? Just in case...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:32 pm
Posts: 38
BigEd wrote:
Could you swap out the CPU? Just in case...


Sure! I bought two from Mouser, you wouldn't think that it could be a bad batch though could it? Is that common. Im going to switch it out now. Be right back!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:32 pm
Posts: 38
Switched the CPU same Result... :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10938
Location: England
So, not only has it misread the high byte of the pointer, it's written back the wrong version.

Perhaps it could be an issue with your address decoding, chip select and write enable. There is a thing you have to do to make sure writes are safe, and not started when the addresses might still be changing. Have you checked the relevant part of Garth's primer? Can you share a sketch of your RAM control signals?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: