6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Fri Sep 27, 2024 4:23 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 271 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 19  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
Yes, this gives us some hope! It is a major part of this project...

The SDRAM physical dimensions I have correct on this board. The only problem I foresee with my design is a potential conflict with the SDRAM controller vs. the pins I have already assigned for the FPGA.

BigEd wrote:
... The block RAMs give 2 areas of 1k for zero page, 4k of stack, 8k intended for 'ROM' and another 16k intended for 'RAM'. (There's enough block RAM for 32k 16-bit words in the LX9.)...

I thought the LX9 had 576Kb(36Kx16) of BlockRAM...So far I have 8K ZeroPage, 4K Stack, and 16K ROM, leaving 8Kx16? for the SDRAM controller. I can trim some to make more available.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:00 am
Posts: 2353
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands
ElEctric_EyE wrote:

The SDRAM physical dimensions I have correct on this board. The only problem I foresee with my design is a potential conflict with the SDRAM controller vs. the pins I have already assigned for the FPGA.


I was going to use my verilog SDRAM controller, not the built-in DDR controller, so it shouldn't really matter what pins are connected. Did you already post a board schematic btw ?

Quote:
I thought the LX9 had 576Kb(36Kx16) of BlockRAM...So far I have 8K ZeroPage, 4K Stack, and 16K ROM, leaving 8Kx16? for the SDRAM controller. I can trim some to make more available.


My plan was to attach SDRAM directly to CPU bus, and not use any block RAMs for it. If necessary, we can look into adding a cache, but that can be done with as little a one block RAM, up till all of them, depending on priority and application.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
The schematic I sort of threw together, it's abit difficult to read. I had gotten into the habit of using the Board layout as a schematic. Anyway, I've added them both to the header of this thread. The schematic link is at the very bottom.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
I just realized the Header pinouts on the schematic will need updating. I'll put some time next few days updating it. The layout is 100% up to date however.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:00 am
Posts: 2353
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands
Do you already have a .ucf file with all the FPGA pins defined ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
I do. This is just the part defining pin locations. Bottom half is SDRAM:
Code:
NET "MAINCLK1" LOC = P123;         //N_GCLK
//NET "MAINCLK2" LOC = P22;         //P_GCLK
//NET "MAINCLK3" LOC = P51;         //P_GCLK
//NET "MAINCLK4" LOC = P85;         //P_GCLK
//NET "POSC1" LOC = P17;            //P_GCLK
//NET "POSC2" LOC = P50;            //N_GCLK
//NET "POSC3" LOC = P84;            //N_GCLK
NET "VIDEOCLK" LOC = P92;         //N_GCLK
NET "USBCLK" LOC = P24;            //P_GCLK
NET "SCL" LOC = P88;               //P_GCLK RESERVED
NET "SDA" LOC = P87;               //N_GCLK RESERVED
NET "PS2_CLK" LOC = P55;         //P_GCLK
NET "PS2_DAT" LOC = P66;         //RESERVED
NET "SCLK" LOC = P21;            //P_GCLK
NET "MOSI" LOC = P16;            //P_GCLK
NET "MISO" LOC = P23;            //P_GCLK
NET "TX" LOC = P43;
NET "RX" LOC = P40;
NET "O2OUT" LOC = P56;            //N_GCLK   for TFT
NET "WEn" LOC = P59;               //for TFT
NET "A0" LOC = P61;               //for TFT
NET "TFTn" LOC = P67;            //RESERVED for TFT
NET "DataBusOut(7)" LOC = P83;   //for TFT
NET "DataBusOut(6)" LOC = P82;   //for TFT
NET "DataBusOut(5)" LOC = P81;   //for TFT
NET "DataBusOut(4)" LOC = P80;   //for TFT
NET "DataBusOut(3)" LOC = P79;   //for TFT
NET "DataBusOut(2)" LOC = P78;   //for TFT
NET "DataBusOut(1)" LOC = P75;   //for TFT
NET "DataBusOut(0)" LOC = P74;   //for TFT
//NET "PIXDAT(7) LOC = P99;   //RESERVED for CS4954
//NET "PIXDAT(6) LOC = P98;   //RESERVED for CS4954
//NET "PIXDAT(5) LOC = P99;   //RESERVED for CS4954
//NET "PIXDAT(4) LOC = P100;   //RESERVED for CS4954
//NET "PIXDAT(3) LOC = P101;   //RESERVED for CS4954
//NET "PIXDAT(2) LOC = P102;   //RESERVED for CS4954
//NET "PIXDAT(1) LOC = P104;   //RESERVED for CS4954
//NET "PIXDAT(0) LOC = P105;   //RESERVED for CS4954
//NET "SDRA3" LOC = P35;
//NET "SDRA2" LOC = P34;
//NET "SDRA1" LOC = P33;
//NET "SDRA0" LOC = P32;
//NET "SDRA10" LOC = P30;
//NET "SDR1BA1" LOC = P29;
//NET "SDR1BA0" LOC = P27;
//NET "SDR1CSn" LOC = P26;
//NET "SDR1RASn" LOC = P14;
//NET "SDR1CASn" LOC = P12;
//NET "SDR1WEn" LOC = P11;
//NET "SDRA4" LOC = P10;
//NET "SDRA5" LOC = P9;
//NET "SDRA6" LOC = P8;
//NET "SDRA7" LOC = P7;
//NET "SDRA8" LOC = P6;
//NET "SDRA9" LOC = P5;
//NET "SDRA11" LOC = P2;
//NET "SDRA12" LOC = P1;
//NET "SDRCLK" LOC = P15;      //N_GCLK?
//NET "SDRDQM" LOC = P143;
//NET "DQ8" LOC = P142;
//NET "DQ9" LOC = P141;
//NET "DQ10" LOC = P140;
//NET "DQ11" LOC = P139;
//NET "DQ12" LOC = P138;
//NET "DQ13" LOC = P137;
//NET "DQ14" LOC = P121;
//NET "DQ15" LOC = P120;
//NET "DQ0" LOC = P119;
//NET "DQ1" LOC = P118;
//NET "DQ2" LOC = P117;
//NET "DQ3" LOC = P116;
//NET "DQ4" LOC = P115;
//NET "DQ5" LOC = P114;
//NET "DQ6" LOC = P112;
//NET "DQ7" LOC = P111;


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 996
Location: Berkshire, UK
ElEctric_EyE wrote:
I can afford 3 more. 1 ea for Bitwise and TT for their efforts on the 65Org16 assemblers.

Thanks for the thought but I wouldn't have the time to do anything with it and it would just end up collecting dust amongst all the other half finished electronics projects in my house. Keep it for someone who can put it to good use.

_________________
Andrew Jacobs
6502 & PIC Stuff - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/
Cross-Platform 6502/65C02/65816 Macro Assembler - http://www.obelisk.me.uk/dev65/
Open Source Projects - https://github.com/andrew-jacobs


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
BitWise wrote:
...Thanks for the thought but I wouldn't have the time to do anything with it and it would just end up collecting dust amongst all the other half finished electronics projects in my house. Keep it for someone who can put it to good use.

Ok, no problem thanks for responding, and Thanks for the As65!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:42 am
Posts: 362
ElEctric_EyE wrote:
I've got the next stage of the software portion of the project squared away and ready to go. HESMON, the NMOS 6502 MLM made for the C-64, being readied for the 65Org16. Most likely I will fail, but I look at it like this: I am blazing some trails. Don't get me wrong, I have not tried it yet. It is just that laboring over another's code is just that: a labor, and not necessarily a labor of love. I like to focus on hardware when I tire of it...


I'm not familiar with HESMON specifically, but if you'd like, I can give the 65org16 version of HESMON a try in my 65org16 simulator, or at least look over what you've got so far.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
dclxvi wrote:
...I'm not familiar with HESMON specifically, but if you'd like, I can give the 65org16 version of HESMON a try in my 65org16 simulator, or at least look over what you've got so far.

Bruce, Thanks for you interest! As a true 6502 veteran, your opinions hold high value.

I need to actually test what I've converted so far of HESMON...

If you are volunteering to check out my conversion of HESMON, I'd be happy to send the commented version of what I have so far. The JMP's & JSR's are C-64 based.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
Ok, spent the free time I had over the last 2 weeks putting together a board for Arlet and this morning I have finished!!! I applied power and iMPACT saw the FPGA PROM and the Spartan 6. I programmed it with my current progress and the TFT cleared screen and C'mon's dash prompt appeared. Success! Tomorrow I can mail it off. And so now I go back to concentrate on getting the I2C core to work...

Here's some close-ups of the soldering which you can see isn't at all perfect, but it works!
TOP
BOTTOM


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:00 am
Posts: 2353
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands
Did you use a yellow wire for 5V on purpose ? On the PCB it is marked "red"..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
For the old ATX12V 400W power supply I am using, I had labelled the colors according to the voltages, but the 4-wire female connector I spliced in on the power side (meant for HDD's/CD drives) doesn't have 3.3V (orange). I haphazardly matched the wires from the power supply to what was needed on the board. In the end pay attention to the DC Voltages spec'd on the board itself, not the colors. And thanks for pointing that out! I am making many notes for V1.2...

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
I've checked and re-checked, and I found I had left out R19&R20, the 4.7K pull-up resistors for I2C. The board has now passed "my QC" :D

Arlet, one final note: I guess they are the impedance matching? resistors on the video outputs. The datasheet says to either use 75 ohms or 300ohms. If you are not sure either, I will include 3 of each resistor value, 1 for composite (R6) and 2 for S-Video (R4,R5). And speaking of S-Video, if you do get around to soldering that connector (Digi-Key #CP-2240-ND), it goes on the bottom with the composite RCA connector.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:00 am
Posts: 2353
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands
ElEctric_EyE wrote:
I've checked and re-checked, and I found I had left out R19&R20, the 4.7K pull-up resistors for I2C. The board has now passed "my QC" :D

Arlet, one final note: I guess they are the impedance matching? resistors on the video outputs. The datasheet says to either use 75 ohms or 300ohms. If you are not sure either, I will include 3 of each resistor value, 1 for composite (R6) and 2 for S-Video (R4,R5). And speaking of S-Video, if you do get around to soldering that connector (Digi-Key #CP-2240-ND), it goes on the bottom with the composite RCA connector.


I haven't looked into the impedance before, but if you have the resistors, it sounds like a good plan to include them separately, especially since they are non-standard values.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 271 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 19  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: