6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat Sep 28, 2024 6:17 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:09 am
Posts: 8520
Location: Southern California
Quote:
where is the info on zero page/stack usage by certain opcodes?

I don't know of anywhere that lists that info is all in one place.

There will be hardware stack (in page 1) usage on the interrupts (BRK plus IRQ and NMI, and I believe RST too although what it stores is not normally something you ever need to read back so it's ok if it is lost) and RTI, then the counterparts JSR and RTS for subroutines and related tricks. Then add PHA, PLA, PHX, PLX, PHY, and PLY. This for the '02. The '816 has additional ones along the same lines, plus stack-relative addressing. I don't think you're using the '816 yet though, right?

Page 0 is used by all the op codes that use a one-byte operand that's an address.

I'm probably forgetting something but hopefully this is a pretty good summary.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
No. Not using 65816 yet, heh. (Even if I were I'd want to make it address 4GB!)

Thanks for the info!

_________________
65Org16:https://github.com/ElEctric-EyE/verilog-6502


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: stupid question
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:46 pm
Posts: 8403
Location: Midwestern USA
ElEctric_EyE wrote:
I guess the question boils down to, can the WDC65C02 run without RAM, if it is just addressing I/O?

This may have already been answered, but as long as you don't have any interrupts (requires a stack), subroutines (also requires a stack), storage needs or any indirect addressing modes, the answer would be yes. The question I would ask though is why build something that way? You'd be needlessly limiting what the system can do.

_________________
x86?  We ain't got no x86.  We don't NEED no stinking x86!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
Minimalism my friend, minimalism. I'm trying to do alot with four IC's: EEPROM copy to SRAM, switching CPU speeds, trying to init a display I am unfamiliar with, and of course bank switch a 2Mx8 10nS SRAM. With the building blocks I learned from my 1st and 2nd iterations of the PWA, I tried to "do it all" at once, unsuccessfully... If I temporarily get rid of RAM (and associated wiring/socket adapter pinouts, etc), I have only CPU, FPGA, and EEPROM to deal with. Absolute bare minimum @1.25MHz!


Edit: Added "unsuccessful" & bank switch

_________________
65Org16:https://github.com/ElEctric-EyE/verilog-6502


Last edited by ElEctric_EyE on Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:27 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: stupid question
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 10:03 pm
Posts: 1706
BigDumbDinosaur wrote:
ElEctric_EyE wrote:
I guess the question boils down to, can the WDC65C02 run without RAM, if it is just addressing I/O?

This may have already been answered, but as long as you don't have any interrupts (requires a stack), subroutines (also requires a stack), storage needs or any indirect addressing modes, the answer would be yes. The question I would ask though is why build something that way? You'd be needlessly limiting what the system can do.


This is something which is more practical with a Z-80, since it has a larger set of registers. In fact, I remember a Radio-Electronics magazine article back in the early 80s which used a Z-80 in precisely this way to save the cost of a RAM chip.

The 6502, though? Unless you're doing something utterly trivial like reading from one port, shifting, and writing back to another port, I can't see it serving any real purpose. You're better off using a microcontroller for such applications.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:09 am
Posts: 8520
Location: Southern California
That's what the 6532 RIOT (RAM, I/O, and Timer) was for. If you didn't need much RAM, you could eliminate another IC and maybe reduce the number of ICs in the address decoding to zero.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: stupid question
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Posts: 3258
Location: NC, USA
kc5tja wrote:
BigDumbDinosaur wrote:
ElEctric_EyE wrote:
I guess the question boils down to, can the WDC65C02 run without RAM, if it is just addressing I/O?

This may have already been answered, but as long as you don't have any interrupts (requires a stack), subroutines (also requires a stack), storage needs or any indirect addressing modes, the answer would be yes. The question I would ask though is why build something that way? You'd be needlessly limiting what the system can do.


This is something which is more practical with a Z-80, since it has a larger set of registers. In fact, I remember a Radio-Electronics magazine article back in the early 80s which used a Z-80 in precisely this way to save the cost of a RAM chip.

The 6502, though? Unless you're doing something utterly trivial like reading from one port, shifting, and writing back to another port, I can't see it serving any real purpose. You're better off using a microcontroller for such applications.


I'm not one for typing very lengthy paragraphs, so I apologize I didn't mention in the original post of this thread that I was troubleshooting. Attempting to make the 6502 execute code with the least amount of IC's to initialize a TFT display.

I appreciate your inputs though! Makes me think...

_________________
65Org16:https://github.com/ElEctric-EyE/verilog-6502


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 12:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:46 pm
Posts: 8403
Location: Midwestern USA
GARTHWILSON wrote:
That's what the 6532 RIOT (RAM, I/O, and Timer) was for. If you didn't need much RAM, you could eliminate another IC and maybe reduce the number of ICs in the address decoding to zero.

Forgot about those. Are they still around?

_________________
x86?  We ain't got no x86.  We don't NEED no stinking x86!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 6:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 8:28 am
Posts: 106
BigDumbDinosaur wrote:
GARTHWILSON wrote:
That's what the 6532 RIOT (RAM, I/O, and Timer) was for. If you didn't need much RAM, you could eliminate another IC and maybe reduce the number of ICs in the address decoding to zero.

Forgot about those. Are they still around?


Dunno if they have any left in stock, but here you go: http://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?productId=43297


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:01 am
Posts: 142
Was the 6532 ever made into a CMOS version capable of handling higher speeds then the typical 1-2Mhz?

Dimitri


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 10:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:09 am
Posts: 8520
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Was the 6532 ever made into a CMOS version capable of handling higher speeds then the typical 1-2Mhz?

I don't think so.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 1:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:01 am
Posts: 142
I searched online and did not find anything, but thought I'd ask.

Dimitri


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 90 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: