6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 3:39 am

All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 144 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next
 Post subject: What is Forth?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:17 am 

Hi,
I have heard alot about Forth on this site as I'm programing a 6502 based computer. What is Forth exactly and what is it used for :?:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:59 am 

The simplest (and likely insulting) answer is that it's a programing language and -- not surprisingly -- it's used to program computers. There are several people on these forums who are very knowledgeable about forth, and they can probably tell you a lot about it. I just started learning it so I'll give you my impressions and what I understand -- perhaps incorrectly -- about its history. Forth was created by Charles Moore during the 70s and was a very minor language through most of that decade. However, when microcomputers came on to the scene in the late 70s, Forth gained popularity very quickly because it was powerful but had low system requirements. Forth remained popular through the 80s, but as computers became more powerful it lost out to other languages. Because it's powerful, and easy to port to new systems, Forth is apparently used in many embedded applications, including openfirmware, which is the equivalent of the BIOS for many computers made by Sun, IBM, and Apple (so if you have a PowerPC based mac, you can boot up into openfirmware and program in forth).