6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Thu May 09, 2024 1:51 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2022 9:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 8:36 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Germany
So I first encountered FORTH in 1983 at the Army Apprentice College, I already knew about BASIC so they had a teacher come in to teach me FORTH as one of the BBC Microcomputers had a FORTH ROM installed. So since then I have had a paper listing of FIG FORTH and wanted now to give it a go. So purchased a board from WDC with the W65C134S microcontroller and 32k RAM and a socket for an external ROM chip ( 128k ). I also got the memSIM2 emulator and a cheap USB logic analyser.

First was to get the board to jump from the internal ROM to the external ROM at $800, much head scratching (and use of the logic analyser) later I acheived the fisrt 'Hello World' ( Assembler ) from the external ROM using the internal Serial routines. Then I ported over what I needed for the FORTH ( mainly serial in and out via RS232/USB ) connection and got this running.

So I had the basics in place and started on the FORTH kernel, converting it to assemble with the WDC tool set, the hardest part was getting it to compile to run in RAM but be stored in ROM. The startup would copy it from ROM to RAM before calling 'COLD'.

Then I got it to run and print 'fig-FORTH 1.0' on the terminal emulator.

A little debugging later I have a running system on the board. It currently has a RAM disk buffer that holds 16 screens, this is initialised from data in the ROM at start up... what joy to see '? EMPTY STACK' instead of '? MSG # 0'.

Next job is to see if I can boot straight into the external ROM after RESET and bypass the internal ROM completly.

Points to note:
1) WDC Data sheets and manuals need a lot of time to understand and they miss a few points out.
2) Board is good for a start up system, would like to add in a second serial port to get a 'disk' added.
3) The board has 16 bytes of zero page missing, and would need considerable external decoding and RAM chip to add this. Why they did not have this on board is another question.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2022 11:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10800
Location: England
(Welcome back! Haven't seen you for a while.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2022 2:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 8:36 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Germany
Thanks for the welcome back, life got in the way ( in a bad way ). So picking myself up and moving forward. Nice to get back to some 6502 work. Just plqanning what to do next...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2022 2:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10800
Location: England
Well done on the successful bringup though. Odd that there should be some missing zero page... perhaps not a problem so long as it's well-documented... which is not a WDC strength.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2022 2:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 8:36 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Germany
It has from $00 to $2F for the internal registers ( IO etc ) and $40 to $FF for internal RAM. On the board the external ram is mapped to the CS6 line which is from $0100 to $7FFF. To get to the 'missing' 16 bytes ( $30 to $3F ) you would need to use the CS0 line and gate it with the CS6 line to use on the external RAM ( involving cutting tracks on the board ) or add a second board with a 16 byte memory chip to fill the gap.
Zero page is the most important part of the 6502 memory map so they should have filled it completly.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2022 3:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10800
Location: England
Oh, I see, I/O in zero page - that's a tradeoff.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2022 5:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 8:36 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Germany
The 65c265 microcontroller is better in that it has a full 512 bytes of ram covering page 0 and 1. IO is mapped at higher addresses ($Dxxx). Maybe my next challange is to get the c265 board and get FIG working in Native mode on it. Then enjoy the fun of getting it working with 16 bit registers.
Or get a 5v CPLD/GAL/FPGA and expand the current board.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2022 1:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 1:13 pm
Posts: 34
cheekyfox wrote:
The 65c265 microcontroller is better in that it has a full 512 bytes of ram covering page 0 and 1. IO is mapped at higher addresses ($Dxxx). Maybe my next challange is to get the c265 board and get FIG working in Native mode on it. Then enjoy the fun of getting it working with 16 bit registers.
Or get a 5v CPLD/GAL/FPGA and expand the current board.



I used the M377xx which is a superset of the 65816 in the 90's plus I have an industrial strength Forth that I wrote for it. I do have some 134 and 256 samples floating around though plus I think there was another chip they had too a bit like the 134.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2022 3:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 8:36 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Germany
Have just started putting in Garth's zero-overhead service routines, it now deals with a timer interrupt that goes off each 1 second and increments a counter.

Next is the big work of moving the UART TX/RX routines from external routines into the FORTH kernal.

I keep asking why
and get the answer WHY ? MSG # 0


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2022 4:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:26 pm
Posts: 1928
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
cheekyfox wrote:
I keep asking why
and get the answer WHY ? MSG # 0

On the TRS-80 Model I Level I the answer was WHAT?
But carefully and slowly repeating the question had no effect. Maybe a more appropriate response would have been DUNNO.

_________________
Got a kilobyte lying fallow in your 65xx's memory map? Sprinkle some VTL02C on it and see how it grows on you!

Mike B. (about me) (learning how to github)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2022 11:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 3354
Location: Ontario, Canada
From another post... :)


Attachments:
DSC01724ShpCrpLores.JPG
DSC01724ShpCrpLores.JPG [ 98.21 KiB | Viewed 6531 times ]

_________________
In 1988 my 65C02 got six new registers and 44 new full-speed instructions!
https://laughtonelectronics.com/Arcana/ ... mmary.html
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2022 7:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 9:27 pm
Posts: 858
barrym95838 wrote:
cheekyfox wrote:
I keep asking why
and get the answer WHY ? MSG # 0

On the TRS-80 Model I Level I the answer was WHAT?
But carefully and slowly repeating the question had no effect. Maybe a more appropriate response would have been DUNNO.


Each time I ask WHY? , I get a different answer! :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: