6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Thu May 09, 2024 9:28 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 5:02 pm 

Complete Forth newbie here. I've recently gotten Tali Forth 2 running on my SBC and would like to set some outputs on my 6522 VIA. It is mapped to addresses $8010..$801F.
What is the typical way to write to and read from memory? Are there existing Forth words, or will I need to write my own?

I may have figured it out

It looks like the following works. Is this the correct way to do this?
Code:
hex
FF 8012 !
1 8010 !

Thanks,
Shawn

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 6:17 pm 

Sure; but you'll want to give the addresses names that are meaningful to humans, typically with CONSTANTs. They take headers space (unless you're compiling headerless code), but if you use them enough, they'll pay for themselves, since reference to a constant takes only one cell versus a literal which takes two cells. The following is from my workbench computer's ROM Forth:

Code:
\ VIA1 is the base address of the first 6522 on the SBC.  Following are
\ the addresses of different registers in the 6522.  VIA1 is the only IC on NMI.

6000     EQU VIA1        \ Base address of first 6522.
  VIA1 0 + CONSTANT VIA1PB      \ Port B
  VIA1 1 + CONSTANT VIA1PA      \ Port A
  VIA1 2 + CONSTANT VIA1DDRB    \ Data Direction Register for port B
  VIA1 3 + CONSTANT VIA1DDRA    \ Data Direction Register for port A
  VIA1 4 + CONSTANT VIA1T1CL    \ Timer 1 Counter Low byte
  VIA1 5 + CONSTANT VIA1T1CH    \ Timer 1 Counter High byte
  VIA1 6 + CONSTANT VIA1T1LL    \ Timer 1 Latch Low byte
  VIA1 7 + CONSTANT VIA1T1LH    \ Timer 1 Latch High byte
  VIA1 8 + CONSTANT VIA1T2CL    \ Timer 2 Counter Low byte
  VIA1 9 + CONSTANT VIA1T2CH    \ Timer 2 Counter High byte
  VIA1 A + CONSTANT VIA1SR      \ Shift Register
  VIA1 B + CONSTANT VIA1ACR     \ Auxiliary Control Register
  VIA1 C + CONSTANT VIA1PCR     \ Peripheral Control Register