6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sun May 12, 2024 4:36 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 4:47 pm 

So, here is something that I have been tinkering with for the last 5 years. At first it started out as a board that I could use to test my CPU emulation for a product I am also working on called μDrive. This board (65xxT) emulates a 6502 (currently just the NMOS version, but other versions are planned). It uses a dual core microcontroller running at 90/100MIPS. I have a cache mechanism and variable timing for PHI1/PH2, with PH0 (1MHz) as the reference. I have a memory map table where I can adjust the timing to whatever is needed so that external chips can operate down to 1MHz if needed. You can shadow an external ROM internally (so it is off the bus). Any 6502 code running internally can execute up to 8 instructions per PHI0 cycle. This gives you anywhere from 4x to 48x the performance of a stock 1MHz 6502 and still retains the compatibility with old slow chips. I designed this to just drop in place of a stock 6502 in a Commodore VIC-20, Apple II, BBC, etc. I have been doing all of the development on a simple system - a Commodore 1541 disk drive. RDY and SYNC are not used with that, which made the bring up easier to deal with. I plan on having a 6510 version as well for the C64 (different pin and number of pins, so a different board). The NMOS version has support for all of undocumented opcodes and various bugs and quirks that it has. I could make a '816 version, or even Z80 and other CPU versions at this point - just different pinouts/number of pins.

Currently, the 2nd core is not being used at all and I am wondering if I should ditch it completely. I planned to use it for data manipulation (in the case of the 1541 I was going to use it for realtime GCR encoding/decoding). Can anyone think of any other uses for other systems?

Attachments:
65xxT-2.jpg
65xxT-2.jpg [ 389.04 KiB | Viewed 1566 times ]
65xxT-1.jpg