6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Tue May 21, 2024 2:43 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2016 8:42 am 

I’m an old x86 assembler programmer, and have spent many happy hours (!) tracing through firmware code on 8088 in-circuit emulators in the late 80s and early 90s. Just looking at the 6502 world again after a 30 year break. Have found it difficult to source a 6502 ICE. I know there are modern systems based around GODIL, etc. But as an old timer, I’d prefer an ICE from the past.

Just to be clear, I’m talking about a hardware ICE that comes with a header that you plug into the socket the 6502 CPU normally sits in, that provides disassembly, tracing and real hardware breakpoints for code in ROM. That I can connect to the target, switch on, and use via a Windows-type screen ideally on a PC. Not one where I have to build or compile anything (to create the ICE) or run from Linux - I'm an old dog, and new tricks like compiling stuff for GODIL are beyond my comprehension. Plus I just want to use it to debug code, not to recreate the 6502 in another form.

So if anyone knows where I could source a purpose-built 6502 ICE that would be really helpful. I've searched high and low for a Microtek/Micetek EasyPack 6502F. If anyone has an old ICE they no longer need then I'd be interested in possibly buying it :)

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:05 pm 

Maybe David Kelly could help to point you in the right direction?

viewtopic.php?p=16829#p16829

http://davidkel06.wix.com/davesprocesso ... t-emulator

Mike B.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2016 7:01 pm 

Welcome, x86vet. :)

In this post, danlb_2000 mentions that he has put together a web page regarding the Infotron System IF65. Perhaps his post, or others there, or his web page will be of some assistance.