6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 5:48 am

All times are UTC

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
 Post subject: [129.1] Help me please!
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2001 7:14 am 
Hi everybody,
I'm a total novice with 6502's so I was wandering if anyone could help me with a few questions.

1) A 6502 has 16 address lines. How many different memory locations can be accessed with these lines?

2) If it only had 10 address lines, how many different locations would it be possible to access?

3) For a 6502 how many bits can be stored in each memory location?

4) How many memory locations would be required to store the decimal number 76543?

Any help with these would be much appreciated!

Cheers

Reddevil1999

Report this post

Post subject: [129.2] Help me please!
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2001 2:34 pm 

>1) A 6502 has 16 address lines. How many different memory locations can be accessed with these lines?

2^16 (2 to the 16th power), which is 65,536 addresses. The addresses are usually expressed in hexadecimal notation (base 16), which means the possible address are 0000 to FFFF.

>2) If it only had 10 address lines, how many different locations would it be possible to access?

2^10, which is 1024 addresses. In hex, 0000 to 03FF.

>3) For a 6502 how many bits can be stored in each memory location?

Eight. When talking about processors, some examples of various "word lengths" are (most of these are old and obsolete):
4 bit - Intel 4004.
8 bit - 6502, 6800, 8080, 8085, Z80, and many others.
12 bit - PDP-8 (very old), and some PIC micros (new).
14 BIT - some PIC micros (new).
16 bit - 8086, DEC PDP-11, TI 9900, and many others.
18 bit - (some old minicomputers, I forget which).
32 bit - 68000 series, Intel Pentium, and many others.

>4) How many memory locations would be required to store the decimal number 76543?