6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Thu May 23, 2024 2:38 am

All times are UTC

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2000 11:18 pm 
Hello. I'm new at this, so here goes:
I'm really interested in building a computer based on the 6502 similar to an Apple ][. I don't have the foggiest idea where to find the schematics necessary, or quite where to start. I really could use some help! Thanks!
A.S.

Report this post

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2000 10:02 pm 
The most straightforward way is to buy a copy of the old "Aplle II+ Technical Reference Manual" which came with all of the Apple II+ computers ever sold, so there are still a lot around in the back dusty shelves of used computer stores. Also check out swap meets, Goodwill, and Salvation Army store bookshelves.

This book not only has a complete schematic including the video generation circuitry, it also has a complete listing of the firmware (monitor ROM) and some pretty decent descriptions of how everything works.

If you can't find it anywhere, post a reply or E-mail me directly and I will try to scan in my copy -- but it is fairly large so it will have to be done in sections.

-- Brian Farley

Report this post

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2000 4:30 pm 
It's likely that the reason you want to make a copy of the Apple][ because you don't have one. It would be easy enough to get one for the cost of shipping if you simply put out a call in a few newsgroups.

Also, if you'd had one back when they were mainstream, you'd really want something a bit less restrictive. IIRC, the ][+ had three segments of memory dedicated to display refresh right in the middle of everything else. Also, not only does the processor run at somewhat less than 1 MHz, but it has wierd timing to make it easier to generate the video control strobes.