6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 7:53 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Deck65 v2
PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2023 8:49 pm 

This is probably a working title since I suck at giving names to things.

Ever since I started playing with 6502 SBCs, I wanted to build a SBC with a 3D-printed or acrylic case, a keyboard, an LCD display and some I/O.

I learned a lot while building multiple revisions of my Deck65 (viewtopic.php?f=12&t=7501&p=98325#p98325), so I'm going to give a try to my larges project so far.

Internals are pretty much unchanged from my Deck65:
- 8 MHz / 2 MHz clock, ATF16V8B
- ACIA (internet access through ESP-01), VIA (I2C, SPI, PS/2 keyboard, GPIO)
- Built-in I2C RTC & I2C EEPROM

However, I'm also adding some new things:
- Built-in 48-key keyboard with Kailh Choc white switches (low-profile, clicky), powered by Atmega328P. Controls the computer through the same PS/2 interface as the external keyboard, can be disabled.
- RAM banking
- A battery would be nice! First I'll need to measure how much current does my beast draw to see if it's going to make sense to add one. But I think I'll have plenty of space for even a really large LiPo battery.

Overall, my goal is to make a fully standalone machine with everything built in, even a keyboard. (I have a lot of experience in building custom mechanical keyboards, I think I've made around 20 so far, mostly hand-wired). Here's my daily driver:
Attachment:
dd1.jpg
dd1.jpg [ 134.21 KiB | Viewed 53320 times ]

Attachment:
dd2.jpg
dd2.jpg [ 154.2 KiB | Viewed 53320 times ]