6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat May 11, 2024 7:21 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 12:41 am 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have just found out that I can edit and delete any silly questions, incorrect information etc...

This page I'll keep here a little longer but no more replies to this forum thread thanks!

from N Pastoll :oops:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok say I have a 6502 running at 1 MHz

I just want to clarify the meaning of ticks and cycles:--

* This means that its running at 1,000,000 cycles per second right?!

half of that being in duty cycles if using 50% duty cycle.

I'm new to design of logic circuits and now I understand that there is a smaller value called the tick?!

What exactally is a tick - and how many of them do you have per cycle or of the total freq? which ever is the right way to calculate..

thanks

:roll:

P.s. From what I have found I think a tick is time taken for a logic gate to calculate and change state of output if necessary.

Last edited by 1202 on Wed Apr 09, 2003 8:17 am, edited 2 times in total.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 2:06 am 

When designing e.g. an address decoder - is it very important to find the total propagational delay of the components so that the total delay doesnt exceed duty cycle? somthing like that...

?? Hmm A little confusion in mind

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 2:19 am 

http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/c/clock_tick.html

anyone want to add to this! definition.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:26 am