6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 4:59 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 4:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2022 3:52 am
Posts: 20
Hi all,
I've been working on my homebrew 65c816 computer for a while now and I don't have a good solution for sound generation. I am "cheating" a little by using a propeller 2 for vga generation and thought maybe I could use that.
Thoughts?
( The ay-3-8910 is a option but I'm not sure about the bc1 and 2 signals)
Thanks!

_________________
It takes a truly intelligent person to know that there's always more to learn
Kuzai Longmane (They/Them)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 4:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:52 am
Posts: 745
Location: Germany
i mean the options are the same as for any other retro CPU like the Z80, 6502, etc.

you could for example go with the SN76489's (or 2 for stereo). each of those gives you 3 square wave and 1 noise channel. it's a very simple chip, so interfacing with it should be easy.
or, if you want something more fancy you could use a YM3812 (+YM3014B), there is a sound card for the BBC Micro based on the YM3812, so you could use that as a reference for your own design: https://github.com/JudgeBeeb/BeebOPL


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 9:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10793
Location: England
(Welcome, Kuzailongmane!)

Using a sound chip, or using a microcontroller, both are valid choices. Be sure to have fun! And if you can share your work, so much the better.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 11:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2022 3:52 am
Posts: 20
BigEd wrote:
(Welcome, Kuzailongmane!)

Using a sound chip, or using a microcontroller, both are valid choices. Be sure to have fun! And if you can share your work, so much the better.


Thank you, and i am having fun! hopefully soon i'll just get the project in a (virtually ) working MPC system :|


would you like to the the schematics i have for it so far?

_________________
It takes a truly intelligent person to know that there's always more to learn
Kuzai Longmane (They/Them)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 1:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:40 pm
Posts: 1000
Location: Canada
If you choose to go with the SN76489 be aware that i's rather slow and won't keep up with anything going faster than about 1MHz. However, you can buffer it with a latch to give it time to get it's act together. See the attached schematic.



Attachment:
SC.jpg
SC.jpg [ 189.9 KiB | Viewed 1969 times ]

_________________
Bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 1:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2022 3:52 am
Posts: 20
BillO wrote:
If you choose to go with the SN76489 be aware that i's rather slow and won't keep up with anything going faster than about 1MHz. However, you can buffer it with a latch to give it time to get it's act together. See the attached schematic.



Attachment:
SC.jpg




Hm, this poses a problem as i am running my system at 10MHz. ;(
i think i'm going to end up moving to the AY-3-8910.
it that compatible at 10MHz?

_________________
It takes a truly intelligent person to know that there's always more to learn
Kuzai Longmane (They/Them)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 3:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:40 pm
Posts: 1000
Location: Canada
Not sure - I don't think so, but the circuit I showed was tested to 14MHz. I did check out the GI chip's data and chose the TI instead. Can't quite remember why. I still have a couple of those around, but I'd have to dig into the data sheet to see why I rejected it. It's big - that may be one reason.

For the circuit I posted you place the data in the latch, then enable the SG and allow it to do it's thing (wait for it to compete the instruction load and execute it .. see the spec sheet) before giving it more data.

The latch and the SG are at two different locations (I put mine at consecutive locations).

_________________
Bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 3:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2022 3:52 am
Posts: 20
BillO wrote:
Not sure - I don't think so, but the circuit I showed was tested to 14MHz. I did check out the GI chip's data and chose the TI instead. Can't quite remember why. I still have a couple of those around, but I'd have to dig into the data sheet to see why I rejected it. It's big - that may be one reason.

For the circuit I posted you place the data in the latch, then enable the SG and allow it to do it's thing (wait for it to compete the instruction load and execute it .. see the spec sheet) before giving it more data.

The latch and the SG are at two different locations (I put mine at consecutive locations).


The latch and the SG are at two different locations (I put mine at consecutive locations).
^
|

is this just A0 connected to an inverted on one CS and connected direly on the other CS?

_________________
It takes a truly intelligent person to know that there's always more to learn
Kuzai Longmane (They/Them)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 4:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:40 pm
Posts: 1000
Location: Canada
Kuzailongmane wrote:
is this just A0 connected to an inverted on one CS and connected direly on the other CS?


Yeah, something like this:

Attachment:
Selects.jpg
Selects.jpg [ 20.32 KiB | Viewed 1929 times ]




In my particular implementation the device select lines were already decoded.

_________________
Bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2022 3:52 am
Posts: 20
Attachment:
TinderboxINTC_SCH.PDF [25.84 KiB]
Downloaded 33 times
BillO wrote:
Kuzailongmane wrote:
is this just A0 connected to an inverted on one CS and connected direly on the other CS?


Yeah, something like this:

Attachment:
The attachment Selects.jpg is no longer available




In my particular implementation the device select lines were already decoded.




I'm doing the same thing with my systems dual IRQ controllers:


Attachment:
TinderboxINTC_SCH.PDF [25.84 KiB]
Downloaded 33 times

_________________
It takes a truly intelligent person to know that there's always more to learn
Kuzai Longmane (They/Them)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 6:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:19 pm
Posts: 116
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
The Mockingboard for the Apple II used the AY-3-8910/3 and connected it through a 6522 so it's not exposed to the timings of the main bus. That's how I'm planning on adding YM2149s to my build at some point.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2023 10:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:07 am
Posts: 1207
Location: Soddy-Daisy, TN USA
Kuzailongmane wrote:
Hi all,
I've been working on my homebrew 65c816 computer for a while now and I don't have a good solution for sound generation. I am "cheating" a little by using a propeller 2 for vga generation and thought maybe I could use that.
Thoughts?
( The ay-3-8910 is a option but I'm not sure about the bc1 and 2 signals)
Thanks!


If you're using the P2 then I would love to learn how you have interfaced that. I have a P2 dev board and considered using it as well but the idea of soldering the P2 is difficult for hobbyists.

_________________
Cat; the other white meat.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: