6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Wed Jun 05, 2024 11:42 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:55 pm 

I've been kicking around the idea of building a 6502 computer for over a year now, and I started learning 6502 asm a couple of weeks ago.
I know what I want, but I wanted to check and make sure that it should work, before I start, as I am on a very tight budget.
I have a potential memory map,(this is the second revision) and I thought it would be best to ask the more experienced.
Code:
0000h
   |     8K SRAM  (minus 1 byte)
1FFFh
2000h
   |     8K for I/O
3FFFh
4000h
   |     32K SRAM (per bank)
BFFFh
C000h
   |     16K ROM (per bank)
FFFFh

I got a whole bunch of 32K SRAM off of ebay for really cheap, and I want to make sure that my machine is not underpowered.
I want to bank my memory, I was considering stealing the last byte of the 8K SRAM and mapping it to some sort of mapping circuitry, using the lower nibble for RAM, and the upper nibble for ROM. That would give me 16 banks each for RAM and ROM. I was thinking of using a PIC, but I'm not sure if it will be fast enough. If not, I could probably just use a couple of latches and demultiplexers. For rs232 serial, all I have is a couple of 8250's a 68681 and a couple of 6402's. Which is better? Anyways, it's going to be a multi-board system with either a VFD or led display. The processors I have are an SY6502B and an R65C02P2 I'm not sure which to use.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:51 pm 

Quote:
I was considering stealing the last byte of the 8K SRAM and mapping it to some sort of mapping circuitry, using the lower nibble for RAM, and the upper nibble for ROM.

Why not use one of the ROM addresses, that way you don't need to lose any RAM or ROM bytes. Writing to the ROM address sets the page latch, reading from the ROM address reads the ROM. You may like to use two latches, one for ROM and one for RAM, this would then easily allow 256 pages for each block.