6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:13 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2022 2:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:56 am
Posts: 276
Location: Lynden, WA
using the Rockwell part

my initialization routine:

Code:
uartinit: 
         PHA
               STZ      COM1_STA      ;write a zero to ACIA status register to reset chip
               LDA      #@00011110     ;ACIA control register setting for 1 stop, 8 data, 9600 baud         
               STA      COM1_CON      ;set ACIA control register
               LDA      #@00001001      ;no parity, no echo, no Tx IRQ, RTSB LOW, Rx IRQ enabled, DTRB LOW
               STA      COM1_COM      ;set ACIA command register
               PLA
               RTS


after this code runs, the UART sets IRQB LOW. I clear it by reading the status register.

Any attempts to write to the data register causes no activity on the TXd pin.

Using an FTDI serial to usb connector

Other pins are set as follows:

RXc is not connected
XTL1 getting clock from 1.8432 X0, Its an oscillator, not just a crystal. Clock sugnal is confirmed
XTL2 not connected
CTSB is connected to ground, and to the proper pin on the FTDI
RTSB is connected to pin on FTDI. Reads LOW when probed.
DTRB connected to pin on FTDI. Reads LOW when probed
DSRB grounded, and connected to FTDI
DCDB grounded and connected to FTDI

terminal emulator set for no handshaking

Why is the transmitter not working?


Last edited by Dan Moos on Sat Apr 30, 2022 8:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2022 5:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:09 am
Posts: 8428
Location: Southern California
Your code looks ok. If you probe the CTS\ pin itself, does it show low?

_________________
http://WilsonMinesCo.com/ lots of 6502 resources
The "second front page" is http://wilsonminesco.com/links.html .
What's an additional VIA among friends, anyhow?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2022 1:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:56 am
Posts: 276
Location: Lynden, WA
Yes. I have it hardwired low. Confirmed when measured.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2022 8:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:56 am
Posts: 276
Location: Lynden, WA
:roll: Turns out accidentally using the native rs232 voltage level ftdi part doesn't work in a 5 volt system :roll:

first clue: reading Rx on the UART and send chars from terminal, data is inverted.

second (most important) clue: data sent to Rx from ftdi was 10 volts

Proper part installed. All is well now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: