6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 11:48 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2021 12:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:08 pm
Posts: 990
Location: near Heidelberg, Germany
Michael wrote:
As for zero glue logic... If I replace the ROM chip with a boot loader / rom emulator chip on a 64K RAM design, might that be worth an "atta boy"?


For me that defeats the purpose of the 6502 ... a support chip that is even more powerful than the 6502....

But I used a CPLD to copy over some boot code from an SPI Flash to RAM, what about this?

André

_________________
Author of the GeckOS multitasking operating system, the usb65 stack, designer of the Micro-PET and many more 6502 content: http://6502.org/users/andre/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2021 5:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 1:05 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Albuquerque NM USA
Reviving this thread about a zero glue 6502 because I thought of a way to cascade reset supervisor and that solved the problem of enabling EPROM at power/reset without glue logic.

Here is a no glue 6502 design. A normal 6502 SBC with 32K RAM at 0-7FFF, ACIA at 8000-BFFF, and EPROM at C000-FFFF. The only unusual circuitry is two MCP130 reset supervisors cascaded so first MCP130 reset 6502 and 2nd MCP130 which controls EPROM chip_select. After 6502 reset is negated, the EPROM remains enabled for another 350mS, nominal. During that time 6502 copies program from EPROM to RAM and then jumps to RAM. The EPROM then goes offline after 350mS. I added two expansion slots because the EPROM memory area (C000-FFFF) can be recycled for other I/O devices as long as it does not respond to the initial 350mS enabling pulse.

I'll layout the board and have it ready for next time when I'm sending out a batch of pcb.
Bill


Attachments:
NoGlue65_scm.pdf [32.05 KiB]
Downloaded 58 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2021 2:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:38 pm
Posts: 586
Location: Michigan, USA
plasmo (Bill) wrote:
Here is a no glue 6502 design.

Hi Bill.

After reset and 350-ms, is there anything in the $C000..$FFFF address space to vector an IRQ request?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2021 2:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 1:05 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Albuquerque NM USA
Argh! the devil is in the detail. No, I have not thought about interrupt vector. I'll probably provide pull up/down resistors and force interrupt to, say, 0x0202. Thanks for thinking of it.
Bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2021 3:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 5:42 am
Posts: 337
plasmo wrote:
Argh! the devil is in the detail. No, I have not thought about interrupt vector. I'll probably provide pull up/down resistors and force interrupt to, say, 0x0202.

You might be able to use the W65C02 VPB output to re-enable the ROM.

You would need to diode-OR VPB with the output of the second MCP130.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2021 3:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:38 pm
Posts: 586
Location: Michigan, USA
Well... Playing devil's advocate... If you can use an MCP130 the way you are without calling it "glue", couldn't you use a pair of diodes, a transistor, and a couple pull-ups to leave ROM in memory space at $C000..$FFFF? I suppose it depends on what you consider "glue", yes, no?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2021 4:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 1:05 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Albuquerque NM USA
VPB is an excellent idea!

My twisted logic about "No glue" is this: Since I'm already using one MCP130 as the voltage supervisor and convinced myself I've not "sinned", surely 2nd MCP130 is still all right--at least that's my reasoning. The alternative is two push switches, push both down, release one to run 6502, then release the 2nd to remove EPROM. Yike! that's just ugly.

The EPROM actually occupies the entire memory space when it is enabled during the 350mS period. I can copy it to RAM (residing in 0x0-7FFF) even though both EPROM and RAM are enabled because it is a write operation. Once RAM has same values as EPROM, I can also jump into RAM and execute without data contention because EPROM and RAM contents are the same, but I can not access I/O until EPROM has removed itself from the memory map.
Bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2021 10:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:38 pm
Posts: 586
Location: Michigan, USA
Kinda' reminds me of the John Bell Engineering 82-300 board...


Attachments:
John Bell 82-300 Board.JPG
John Bell 82-300 Board.JPG [ 41.27 KiB | Viewed 728 times ]
Bell 6502 Schematic.png
Bell 6502 Schematic.png [ 283.25 KiB | Viewed 728 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2021 8:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:40 pm
Posts: 1000
Location: Canada
Michael wrote:
Kinda' reminds me of the John Bell Engineering 82-300 board...


That 2N2222 kinda looks like a tiny spot of glue. 3 chips and a transistor ain't bad though.

_________________
Bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2021 11:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:38 pm
Posts: 586
Location: Michigan, USA
BillO wrote:
Michael wrote:
Kinda' reminds me of the John Bell Engineering 82-300 board...


That 2N2222 kinda looks like a tiny spot of glue. 3 chips and a transistor ain't bad though.

I wonder what that extra MCP130 in plasmo's design looks like to you, Bill?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2021 12:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:40 pm
Posts: 1000
Location: Canada
Michael wrote:
I wonder what that extra MCP130 in plasmo's design looks like to you, Bill?


Maybe just a sticky little sin. Certainly not mortal, but ..

A few years back I was working on a design along these lines. I got it down to 4 chips (6502, RAM, ROM, 6551) but I used an oscillator (some would call this a chip), several diodes and 2 MOSFETs.

The diodes and MOSFETs were definitely quite "sticky". I got it working at low speeds but, like vegetable chop suey, it was not really satisfying.

_________________
Bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2021 1:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 1:05 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Albuquerque NM USA
I need more than an inverting transistor because EPROM needs to be disabled and tri-stated after its content is copied to RAM otherwise the whole system is just one big EPROM.

Because there is no glue logic, I speculate the board can run quite fast with appropriately fast EPROM and RAM, even though W65C51 is spec-ed at 4MHz, I suspect it can run much much faster.
Bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2021 2:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:09 am
Posts: 8428
Location: Southern California
plasmo wrote:
even though W65C51 is spec-ed at 4MHz, I suspect it can run much much faster.

https://wdc65xx.com/integrated-circuit says "14 MHz Operating Bus Speed" even though the data sheets I have for it (the latest being six years old) didn't reflect that yet.

_________________
http://WilsonMinesCo.com/ lots of 6502 resources
The "second front page" is http://wilsonminesco.com/links.html .
What's an additional VIA among friends, anyhow?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2021 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 1:05 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Albuquerque NM USA
I have ordered a few W65C51 and I just now noticed the part number is W65C51N6TPG-14 which the WDC datasheet says can run at 14MHz but provides no AC characteristics (only 2MHz and 4MHz timings are provided). Hmmm, with 45nS W27C512-45Z EPROM, I probably can run the board to 25MHz.
Bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 1:05 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Albuquerque NM USA
The 6502 ROM-less programmer board turns out to be a good prototype board for other projects. I used it to prototype the zero-glue 6502 SBC by adding a W65C51 and 2nd reset supervisor in the prototype area. The manual wiring is reasonable since most connections between CPU/RAM/ROM are already on the pc board.

I wrote a small boot software that copies a program from EPROM to RAM, spin in RAM until EPROM's chip select is negated by the 2nd reset supervisor (about 350mS), and then write test data out to the serial port. It all works pretty well.
Bill


Attachments:
Prog65ZG_scm.pdf [22.25 KiB]
Downloaded 34 times
DSC_66931209.jpg
DSC_66931209.jpg [ 1.34 MiB | Viewed 559 times ]
DSC_66921209.jpg
DSC_66921209.jpg [ 1.22 MiB | Viewed 559 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: