6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 9:38 pm

All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 189 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 13  Next
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:39 pm 

Hi all!

Even though I've been working on this idea for about 8 months already, I've finally reached a point where I can be pretty confident on the final result. So I've finally decided on opening a thread to share my progress, an hopefully get some good tips from all the clever minds in the forum.

The idea behind the project is, as you have probably guessed from the title, is to build a MOS6526 replica, out of 74xx ICs. The main motivation, besides having fun and learn something new, is to be able just replace the CIAs in Commodore computers (Of course, with quite a bulky gizmo!). Main goal, making it work up to 2MHz. Beyond that.. well, as far as I can reach!

Just a little background on myself. I'm no expert in electronics, but in computers. I have some solid knowledge on digital circuits but only on the theoretical part of it. The only time I've done some tinkering with real chips in my life, was back in college, and nothing outside a breadboard.

What have I accomplished that makes me feel confident in my success chances? Before going all in in recreating a chip I didn't even understand, I've focused on building something much simpler. I've made a single byte register, with some address decoding, and I've attached it to my good old C64 into the expansion port... and yes! It didn't go up into smoke, and it did work flawlessly. I could read a byte, store a byte.

This means I've understood the bus timings, and I can now build a 65xx bus compatible peripheral. Yay!

Now the work on the 6526 begins. I already have the schematics for the DDRs, PORTs, and CREGs, and the TIMERs are like 50% done. I need to make my schematics a bit more clear before sharing them... but I'll post them shortly.