6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Wed Jun 26, 2024 8:52 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 10:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:39 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Poland
Is possible to obtain the SYNC signal in processor that does not have it :?:
MOS6510 ...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10834
Location: England
I think you have to build a little instruction decoder state machine - Jeff's territory really - which is then a little more complicated if you also have to deal with RDY.

Actually, I think you can give yourself a bit of an assist by also monitoring the address bus - otherwise you have to compute things like page crossing penalty cycles. And in a system with interrupts you'd also need to know the exact cycles in which interrupts are taken.

This is sounding complicated! Would it be enough to get it nearly right?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:39 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Poland
This is idea.
I think for example. On AVR microcontroller which followed the instructions to the CPU.
I would like to simulate the MOS 6509 on 6510.
Or maybe just enough to catch opcodes $ B1 / $ 91?
But how?
http://forum.6502.org/viewtopic.php?t=2023


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 12:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10834
Location: England
That's an idea! Using a cycle-accurate simulation on a microcontroller is a lot more practical than building a 6502 in logic.

But for detecting just two specific opcodes which use (zp),Y addressing, it might not be too difficult to build a finite state machine which detects the two zero page accesses after seeing the specific opcode on the databus followed by an operand, and then counts cycles. Here's a trace:
http://visual6502.org/JSSim/expert.html ... eab122eaea

There are probably not very many ways of getting two consecutive accesses to zero page, other than it being the fetch of an operand for indirect addressing. Or jumping into zero page, but you could just say "don't do that!" Or you could say that a jump into zero page will be preceded by a read of 00 on the database, and ensure that isn't the case.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 1:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:39 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Poland
It's probably really hard.
If I had SYNC (or know when it ends the previous owner) I could recognize opcodes $ B1 / $ 91 and replace them on the fly and turn into BRK interrupt.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 3366
Location: Ontario, Canada
grzeg wrote:
I would like to simulate the MOS 6509 on 6510.
I wonder, why the 6509? Is it because you want to run software written for the CBM-II ? (The scheme used by the 6509 is flawed, IMO.)

-- Jeff

_________________
In 1988 my 65C02 got six new registers and 44 new full-speed instructions!
https://laughtonelectronics.com/Arcana/ ... mmary.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:39 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Poland
That's right, I wanted to run a CBM-II system on my C64 with 16 MB of RAM.
http://forum.6502.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2989


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 3366
Location: Ontario, Canada
Alright, then -- 6509 simulation it is. And, the flaw I mentioned probably could be fixed without breaking compatibility.

I have to go now, but I will have more time to talk later. :)

-- Jeff

_________________
In 1988 my 65C02 got six new registers and 44 new full-speed instructions!
https://laughtonelectronics.com/Arcana/ ... mmary.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 3:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10834
Location: England
It might be that a GODIL or similar FPGA board would substitute for the 6510, in which case you can put in a 6502 core and then it can be tweaked as necessary.

Or, maybe the idea is to arrange this trick by connecting only to the cartridge port?

I do quite like the idea of spotting the two special instructions by observing bus activity. The pattern to match is something like
1 - read, returning B1 or 91
2 - read from the following address, this is the operand, a zero page address
3 - read of that given zero page address
4 - read from the following address, being the high byte of the pointer
(At this point you commit to a banked data access, or two of them.)
5 - read of the (banked) destination address, supposing no overflow from the Y addition
6 - write (if it's a STA) of the (banked) destination address, or a read if it's a LDA and there was a page crossing, or a read of the (unbanked) next instruction if it was LDA without a page cross.

It's easy to pick off the STA case. The LDA case is tricky because you don't know if there will be a page crossing. You do know the value of PC though, so you can see from the address whether cycle 6 is an unbanked fetch or a banked read.

Edit: but note that with this approach you can't tell at the time of the initial fetch that it was a fetch, so you can't substitute the opcode with a BRK. You have to have banking hardware ready to switch in during cycles 5 and possibly 6.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 7:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:39 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Poland
This is a schema of the extension of RAM.
The addition of two registers 6509 is possible.


Attachments:
simm72do.pdf [78.71 KiB]
Downloaded 95 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 7:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:39 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Poland
Hardware is ready swich bank during one cycle


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 7:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 3366
Location: Ontario, Canada
grzeg wrote:
Is possible to obtain the SYNC signal in processor that does not have it :?:
MOS6510 ...
I wish all processors had the SYNC signal! And I guess they all do, but only internally :( -- not brought out on a pin where we can use it as part of a circuit that changes how instructions work. The Motorola/Hitachi 6809/6309 cpus would be great to tinker with -- they need 16 MB, too! :D

Edit: The "E" variants -- 6809E and 6309E -- feature a signal called LIC, or Last Instruction Cycle. LIC differs somewhat from SYNC but it does reveal when the opcode fetch takes place.

For 6510, you guys have cited some good alternatives:
  • use an FPGA cpu core to be the 6510, modified in regard to $91 & $B1 opcodes (which are used by 6509 programs for banked addressing)
  • detect $91 & $B1 opcodes running on a real 6510 by simultaneously running a 6510 simulator on an AVR
  • detect $91 & $B1 opcodes running on a real 6510 by watching R/W and signals on the buses

I just noticed a different challenge, though. The 6510 has an IO port and its data-direction register located at $0000 and $0001. But those same addresses are used by 6509 for the extended address registers! So, when running a 6509 program, you'd have to prevent its accesses to 0000 & 0001 from being "heard" by the 6510. And vice-versa would be awkward too. Thinking out loud, here...

-- Jeff :?

_________________
In 1988 my 65C02 got six new registers and 44 new full-speed instructions!
https://laughtonelectronics.com/Arcana/ ... mmary.html


Last edited by Dr Jefyll on Fri Jan 06, 2017 8:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:27 am
Posts: 672
Another alternative (even though this is the hardware forum) would be software emulation via code analysis. Given that this is a very short-lived architecture, you could suppose that the software you'd run on it was well-behaved in terms of accessing the new hardware features. For instance, assume that $00/$01 access was all done by straight LDA/STA zp instructions, and detect those in the code stream.

If you do have 16MB, and are emulating a 1MB architecture, and are willing to give up timing accuracy (BRK substitution already does that), then you should have plenty of elbow room for tables & analysis. This is the sort of things that emulators on the PC do with JIT'ing chains of instructions, but in this case no JIT transformation is required because the instruction sets are compatible.

I think it would be more work than a hardware solution, but if the hardware solution isn't feasible it is an alternative.

_________________
WFDis Interactive 6502 Disassembler
AcheronVM: A Reconfigurable 16-bit Virtual CPU for the 6502 Microprocessor


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:39 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Poland
You could even use the 6502 and add registers as in 6509 and 6510.
Now, I think it would be the easiest.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:39 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Poland
Dr Jefyll wrote:
(The scheme used by the 6509 is flawed, IMO.)

-- Jeff


:?:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 102 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: