6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 10:01 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2023 3:52 am 

Hi All;
I am new to 6502 CPU's, but, I would like to port or implement BCPL on my 6502 based machine..
What I have is Ben Eaters 6502 kit, and I have ordered the Serial kit as well for I/o..
What would be the first steps toward that (I have read and copied Gordon's 816 stuff, in my notebook..)
THANK YOU Marty

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2023 8:38 am 

MartyG wrote:
Hi All;
I am new to 6502 CPU's, but, I would like to port or implement BCPL on my 6502 based machine..
What I have is Ben Eaters 6502 kit, and I have ordered the Serial kit as well for I/o..
What would be the first steps toward that (I have read and copied Gordon's 816 stuff, in my notebook..)
THANK YOU Marty

The easiest way would be to write a little OS that can support Acornsoft ROMS then run the Acornsoft BCPL ROM. You'll need a filing system of some sorts too. I used this environment extensively in the early 80s to develop a system of networked BBC Micros in a factory automation/robotics setting.

That will give you an environment where you can directly edit, compile and debug 16-bit BCPL programs with optional floating (and fixed) point calculations package.

If you want 32-bit numbers, then it will be more of a challenge, but possible on the 6502 - my own BCPL "rom" is pushing 16KB on the '816 though.

You might want to start by fetching and installing Martin Richards compiler and utilities, etc. on a local (Linux) system though to get to grips with it all, however I'm not sure that can generate the old 16-bit code anymore that the Acornsoft/BBC Micro ROM requires. A lot of that has been lost to time.

-Gordon

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2023 1:07 pm 

Hi All;

Thank You, Gordon, for Your Prompt Reply, and help..

I have much of Martin Richards BCPL stuff, and I will take a look later at what I have..