6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat May 04, 2024 9:20 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: No love for FORTRAN?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2018 12:57 pm 

OK, I've tried and tried to learn Forth. I know it's a popular language around here. And, despite being a developer by trade, I just can't wrap my head around it.

I understand how Reverse Polish Notation works. But I just don't think that way. Sigh...

Anyway, I was reading some old BYTE ads (circa 1978) and I noticed just about every computer ad claimed compatibility with FORTRAN IV.

So, anyone here ever work in FORTRAN? Either professionally or otherwise?

Post subject: Re: No love for FORTRAN?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:22 pm 

My only use of FORTRAN was a college FORTRAN class on a TI mainframe. As I recall, it is a number crunching program that worked in fixed decimal. It was a great tool for business database and column-type reports, but not really designed for anything graphic intensive. I never used it outside of that class.

Daryl

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:28 pm 

That's cool.

According to Wikipedia, it's still used for really computational tasks like weather prediction, traffic analysis, etc. But I guess Forth is the "new kid" in town, being a young language of 48 years. :-)

Fortran, being 61 years old.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:45 pm 

My last use of FORTRAN was in 1985 for a numerical computing class, and there have been several revisions to the language since that time. I recall it being a straight forward language, but lacking the expressive power compared of Pascal and C, or the elegance of Lisp. However, that simplicity is what made it so fast, and why it flourished in numerical computing.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2018 2:21 pm