6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Mon May 20, 2024 6:47 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 10:54 pm 

First, a super short intro on me: I've been an Apple II user since 2004, and I started learning 6502 assembly language in 2010, which not coincidentally is when I joined this forum. :) My last project was a multitasking system called the Mouse Multitasking Demo in 2014, and the project that I'm now working on this year is a TCP/IP stack called Marina.

I don't do any cross-assembly, but instead do all programming and debugging on an Apple IIe using the Merlin Pro editor/assembler. (I will admit however that in the multitasking project, I did debug the ISR in an emulator, because I'd have been foolish not to!)

The Marina IP Stack

So, on to the main subject! The Marina project is not even a year old; I started writing it February 1st this year, and the latest release was last month.

Marina is the newest TCP/IP stack for the Apple II series, written in 6502 assembly language only. Marina uses the Uthernet 10 Mb/s Ethernet card by A2RetroSystems to connect to an Ethernet LAN. I'm also working on a driver for the new Uthernet II. With Marina, the Apple assembly language programmer has access to the UDP, DNS, ICMP, and IP protocols through a Berkeley sockets API. Written with performance in mind, the send throughput of Marina on a standard Apple II can reach 15 packets per second. The October 2015 edition of Marina adds Multicasting level 1 conformance and several improvements to the ARP and ICMP implementations.

Project Goals

I had two goals in mind for writing Marina:
1. To learn more about Ethernet and TCP/IP networking
2. To create a new TCP/IP stack for the Apple II that had more robust RFC compliance than the existing implementations

Interesting Features

Marina has several features not present in other TCP/IP implementations for the Apple II, including:
1. A Berkeley sockets API