6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sun Sep 22, 2024 4:45 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 6:50 pm 

I was wondering if there is any convention or any recommendations for best practices about what to do when, say, X and Y are changed during a subroutine call. Is the subroutine expected to hand the original values back, even when it needs these registers, or is it assumed that the caller will put them in a safe spot before the call? AFAIK, the ARM convention is that a subroutine has to make sure the values that were passed on are protected and passed back. However, what I've seen from other people's code is that there is not such recommendation on the 65-family.

As I'm just starting out to write what could be lots of code, I thought I might start out the "best" way from the ground up, if there is one. Leventhal is silent on this.

(Actually, since I'm aiming for a 65c02, this is not much of a problem, because the subroutine can just phx and phy at the beginning and ply and plx at the end. Just want to know if there is a preferred way of doing this.)

Thanks!

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:15 pm 

Frequently X and Y are used to pass inputs and outputs too; so if they were preserved, it would mean the routine didn't do anything.

I don't think one can make any universal recommendations. In pure assembly, I usually have no reason to preserve them; but in Forth, X is used as the data stack pointer (like S is used as the return stack pointer), so it each primitive (ie, Forth words defined in assembly) must end with X pointing to the top of the data stack (although internally it can use X for something else in the few times that that is needed).