6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 11:04 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Indirect Addressing
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 8:14 pm 

I have been trying to wrap my brain around Indirect Y. I'm still very new to 6502 programming. I have been studying "Machine Code For Beginners" and it the example it gives is not very clear.

Code:

$4000 STA ($80), Y

; later it shows the values of these two addresses
$0080 01
$0081 20

The above code is explained as follows:

Quote:
$80 is not the real address we are trying to store A into. Instead, addresses $80 and $81 are holding the address we are really sending our byte in A to. We are not dealing directly with $0080. Hence the name for this addressing mode: indirect Y.

I have a strong background in C, so I understand pointers. But in this context I don't see the benefit of using this model.
Why would you need an address based on the value of a memory address? Especially when the value may be different at
run-time.

I'm clearly missing the point here. I know that this would allow you to use zero-page addressing right? Perhaps someone could expound on this for me. I would also appreciate a practical example of this address mode.

Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Indirect Addressing
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 8:37 pm 

Johnny Starr wrote:
Why would you need an address based on the value of a memory address? Especially when the value may be different at
run-time.

Just a short answer - think of pointers to structs in C. Say p points to a struct, and p->value to an entry in the struct. The equivalent in 6502 would be to take p, store it in $80/$81, load Y with the offset of value in the struct, and use indirect indexed addressing mode.

A common use case is to have subroutines working on some data structures, where the address of the data structure is given as parameters, like here:
Code:
    lda #<p
    ldy #>p
    jsr subroutine

subroutine:
    sta $80
    sty $81