6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 4:24 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 6:40 pm 

What's the preferred method of passing parameters to assembly subroutines?

I thought of using the stack but since the subroutine address is pushed there too, I don't that that'll work. Reserving memory locations just for different subroutines seemed wasteful. I thought of making my own kind of stack for my data, but it seemed a bit overkill.

I'm new to the 6502 and assembly programming in general, having spent my career writing in C++ and high level languages. It certainly requires a totally different mindset to work at the CPU level :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 7:08 pm 

The 65816 is quite adept at passing parameters on the stack.

The 6502, however, not so much. It can be done, but it's a lot of work. Most 6502 OSes use "control blocks," which are basically parameter blocks in arbitrary memory which you then pass an address to in CPU registers or dedicated zero-page locations (e.g., GEOS, Atari's 8-bit OS, etc). The advantage of this is that you control how and where these blocks are allocated; the routine doesn't care. But, once it has an address, it's free to access the structure.

An additional benefit of this style of parameter passing is that you can embed parameter blocks inline to your code:

Code:
jsr I_MyRoutine
.db parametersGoHere
jsr nextInstructionHere

I_MyRoutine would then grab the return address off the stack, fix up the return address so that RTS does the right thing, then jumps to MyRoutine (note lack of I_ prefix) with the parameter block address in tow. GEOS uses this technique a lot.

Hope this helps.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 7:29 pm 

Hi kc5tja! Thanks for your reply. I'm really interested in ideas for 6502 since I'd like to work with NES-level hardware.