6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 9:16 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2023 1:45 am 

Hi all, I am new to the 6502 space, and as a embedded SWE I have found that there are simply too many bits in my day. So, I decided to buy a W65C134SXB as a Christmas present to myself.

Now, I have been following the Getting Started Guide, and installed the requisite drivers for the FT232. However, I am getting no serial port connection whatsoever. Running up Device Manager shows no active COM ports. Attached is the curreny visual state of the board, with some lovely LEDs lit. Any insight into this would be appreciated, I could well be missing something blatantly obvious, but I am getting the uneasy feeling that I may have a defective board here, possibly due to inadequate shipping from Mouser.

Attachments:
IMG_0609.jpg
IMG_0609.jpg [ 227.02 KiB | Viewed 183570 times ]
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2023 2:42 am 

Welcome.  I don't have the answer to your implied question, but I will comment that it is extremely unlikely that you received a defective board.  Mouser is one of the legitimate distributors our company buys from regularly, and of all the probably hundreds of thousands of ICs I've been partly responsible for, we have never received a defective one, AFAIK.  The 6502 primer however has a few paragraphs about static-handling precautions on the 74xx logic familes page, under the heading "Static-Handling Precautions" 3/4 of the way down the page.  Be sure you follow those to avoid damaging new (or any other) CMOS parts.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2023 3:20 am 

Noted, and book marked. I happy to report that this was operator error. The micro usb cable I had to hand was power-only. This is a humbling start, and a lesson to always check the cables.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2023 7:50 am