6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:12 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2023 3:05 pm 

I am currently getting all my ducks in a row on the initial design choices. Since I am new to all of this I figured I would post my thoughts here to see if I am missing something.

I plan on using the ATF1504A to handle address decoding. I was originally going to use the ATF22V10 but due to availability and needing a programmer decided on something else. I am going to use a similar memory map described by Daryl's DEC-1 decoder. Since the CPLD has more pins I plan on extending the original decoder in include address pins A3 and A2 as well as several more CS pins for I/O devices. I have written out the logic yet but the CPLD will have an internal single bit configuration bit that is memory mapped similar to an I/O device. The idea is to use this configuration bit to switch from 32k RAM/32k ROM to 64k ram during operation. This does mean that the CPLD will have to be tied to the reset circuit as well.

Currently the idea is to have two 65C22S VIAs and use an ATF1504AS to implement a 6502SPI controller. I am still waffling back and forth whether to include a uart on the cpu bus or not. It would be helpful to have a way to interact with the computer fairly quickly but not sure if the trade off is worth it in the long run when the MAX3100 is an option.

The rom will be a 39SF010A nor flash with either a 64k or 128k SRAM IC depending on what is available.

An external canned oscillator will be used for clocking and either a DS1813 or MCP100 for the reset circuit.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2023 3:21 pm 

Welcome!

What's your plan for switching the memory map over? Perhaps you intend to have writes to the ROM region to be sent to RAM so you can copy some or all of the RAM before the switchover?

What's your plan for bringup? Perhaps some minimal initial ROM which signals success on a VIA output?