6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Thu May 09, 2024 12:08 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2023 10:41 pm 

I'm new to 6502, I know a tiny, tiny bit of assembly and the very basics of what most of the pins do. Basically fresh out of Ben Eater's first 6502 video, plus some messing around on my own. I might be a little early on in learning about this stuff to be wondering about something like this but how would a dual 6502 system work?

The idea I had was that they'd share ROM, but I didn't get past that. Not sure how they'd interface with each other or the ROM.

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2023 4:17 am 

brieee wrote:
I'm new to 6502, I know a tiny, tiny bit of assembly and the very basics of what most of the pins do. Basically fresh out of Ben Eater's first 6502 video, plus some messing around on my own. I might be a little early on in learning about this stuff to be wondering about something like this but how would a dual 6502 system work?

The idea I had was that they'd share ROM, but I didn't get past that. Not sure how they'd interface with each other or the ROM.

Do some searches on forum content for starts. Multi-processor 6502 systems have long been a topic of discussion here. Also worth looking at are some of the old Commodore IEEE-488 disk drives, which used two 6502s.

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2023 7:00 am 

Welcome, brieee!

The simplest and most often mentioned set up is that the two devices share (almost) all of memory - RAM and ROM. That's relatively straightforward because the 6502 can be considered as using the bus (or needing to use the bus) for only half the clock cycle. There are two halves, so two CPUs can share. It's not totally straightforward - as BDD says, you could usefully do some searching and reading.