6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat Sep 28, 2024 4:22 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Visual6502 DPControl?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2023 6:22 pm 

I'm new to CPUs, but I generally understand how they work. I'm trying to use the 6502 as an example to see how data moves around, and Visual6502 and some block diagrams have been helpful. I'm specifically interested in the DPControl aspect of it, but I'm little lost on the timing. Unfortunately, the "wiki" link for the JSSim seems to be broken(not sure if that is long term or just lately).

So I have a few questions:
1) Is there a resource somewhere that charts out the "microcode"(yes I know it's not really microcode) for each instruction, along with its timing(T0, T1, etc)?

2) When I see something like T0+T2 in the state, is that T0 for the new instruction while T2 "finishes up" on the last one?

3) What is the alignment of the timing on the DPControl column? For example, if I use the default program that's in Visual6502, it has an ADC # instruction being fetched on cycle 19. I would speculate this completes by enabling the SB bus for ADD(ADDSB06 and ADDSB7) and loading this into the accumulator via SBAC. However, I only see these two being enabled on cycle 22 after the RTS is fetched.

Another example is before that, in the same code: INX is fetching at cycle 8, but SBX isn't enabled(and subsequently X being incremented) until cycle 11, which appears to be in the middle of the following DEY execution. Is this because DPControl is showing the state BEFORE the "current line" is executing, rather than during/after?

I've searched around and couldn't find any direct answers on this. Can someone please set me on the straight and narrow?

Thanks in advance! This stuff is really exciting.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2023 7:42 pm 

Welcome!