6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 10:46 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: LCD Text jumbled on 6502
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 7:25 pm 

Hi everyone, I recently finished my 6502 build, but am running into some issues with Ben's hello-world and hello-world-final programs. It's running the original hello world program and the LCD text appears jumbled, and sometimes it doesn't show up at all. Additionally, when I run hello-world-final nothing on the LCD shows up. I'm pretty sure everything is wired correctly, however it's certainly possible I screwed something up. I suspect it has something to do with the crystal clock, but that's just speculation on my part. I don't have the timer module to test the computer at slower speeds.

I'm a bit new to this, so sorry if this is a silly question. Also, I know my wiring is a bit messy, and sometimes I stipped a bit too much but I plan to clean it up a bit once I get these issues sorted out.

Attachments:
File comment: All screwy. Ignore the messy wires
20221214_122242.jpg
20221214_122242.jpg [ 2.73 MiB | Viewed 414407 times ]
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 7:30 pm 

Welcome to the forum!

Can you please post a schematic for what you've built (doesn't have to be beautiful), and a link to the code you're trying to run? it will be difficult to help you without that info, I think.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 7:38 pm 

Sorry, I forgot about that. The code can be viewed as plain text here: https://eater.net/downloads/hello-world.s

Attachments:
6502.png
6502.png [ 447.01 KiB | Viewed 414403 times ]
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 8:11 pm 

Welcome, besser435 :)

Thanks for posting the schematic. Some folks prefer monochrome, so I've taken the liberty of providing that for you. Cheers,

Jeff

Attachments:
6502 mono.png
6502 mono.png [ 78.38 KiB | Viewed 414396 times ]

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 8:35 pm 

Hello besser435,