6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Wed May 08, 2024 10:45 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2022 3:19 pm 

Hi all,
Newbie here, building an RC6502 Apple 1 SBC using an Issue H board.

Soldering is complete and to speed things up, I got a TL866 II Plus to burn the EEPROM which is an AT28C64XF-25PI (from EBay)
TL866 is new out of box and I reflashed the firmware in it. The device drop-down doesn't show an exact match but tried various flavours
and no joy.

I suspect the 28C64 is a 250mS part and I wonder if it is too slow???

Any ideas??
Cheers
Reg

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2022 3:35 pm 

Welcome, Reg. :)

250ms would indeed be too slow :shock: but I think you mean 250 ns, which should be fine. :wink: (Your clock rate is only 1 MHz, am I right?)

It might be a mistake to focus your troubleshooting on the EEROM. Perhaps that chip is misprogrammed, but it's also possible your project has a problem elsewhere.

In order to assist most effectively we will need more information, starting with photos (which you're allowed to attach to your post). And the CPU -- is it really "RC6502" or is it actually R65C02?

A schematic will also be helpful; also the symptoms you've observed so far. IOW, how does the system behave? Cheers,

Jeff

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2022 3:52 pm 

Hi Reg,

Double check your jumper settings before you try anything else... A14 Select and A15 Select need to be un-jumpered to use a 28C64, and ROM_EN needs to short pins 1 and 2 to enable the ROM chip. The way the board is laid out can make this non-obvious at first.

Make sure your ROM chip is good by reading it back and comparing the dump file with the file you wrote. I seem to remember that the EEPROM programmer you have has a "detection mode," so you can tell it to look for a specific chip (in this case, 28C64) to make sure you bought the part you think you did.