6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Mon May 20, 2024 4:47 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2022 9:05 am 

Hello!
I'm building a mostly simple SBC with the 6502, which I plan to get manufactured into a PCB and assemble myself into a working computer. I've made the schematic by using a few ideas from other people's projects on this forum and also from youtube videos like Ben Eater's and George Foot's videos.

This is my first time posting here but I've used this forum to gather ideas for my project for a while.
Below are some of my goals for this project. I'm looking for some reviews/sanity checks from people who have done this sort of thing before.

My goals for this build
The main thing I want to be able to do with this SBC is to program it with itself. This means having some way to input text from a keyboard and display it to some kind of screen/output device, and I've chosen a VGA monitor for this. I'm not trying to keep this compatible with the ROMs/BIOSs or code of old but I want to be able to write my own, preferably on the machine itself. Of course I'll need to write the ROM on a different PC and write it to the EEPROM.
[EDIT](Also, I dont want to use discrete logic for everything since I have some experience with trying to make that work. I've used an FPGA (the smallest one I could find, the same one that TinyFPGA uses) for the glue logic on this board and I plan to program the logic into that chip (via a JTAG header). I'm also not necessarily using all DIP chips because of lack space, and going SMD isnt that much of a problem so I think it will be a fun challenge too. -> Turns out this is harder than I thought and keeping it simple will help a lot)