6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Thu May 09, 2024 4:12 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2021 2:30 am 

Hello folks. I don't count as a newbie, but maybe more as an orherbie, since I am a biologist with little tech experience.

Many of my hardware projects fail for lack of funds, time, or friendly support. But I soldier on, a maverick (reluctant) individualist.

I have purchased a Ben Eater "idiot-proof kit", and to that end, will soon be a full fledged "6502-er".

If one searches the forum for the term "optical", one receives 66 hits on the various threads. Probably under 10 or 15 separate topics.

Several of these are my ruminations. But others have expressed interest in 6502 optical implementations.

I had an epiphany a month or two ago. Having acquired some Fiber Optic Image Conduit. ( hereafter, FOICs) and 3 color laser pointers ( RGB), and a few dichroic mirror filters, I resumed where I left off 5 years ago, thinking about how to implement the logic.

Of course one wants some analog to the depletion and enhancement mode transistors familiar to "our little club", via the Balasz schematic and the 6502-visual project.

I envision some very well made dichroic mirrors, external source lasers and FOICs actually integrated into sone sort of wafer-waveguide structures and paths.

One needn't even limit to 2D, as 3D routing of optical signals in waveguides might be quite useful. But let's not get ahead of ourselves as to exact future instantiation. Let's begin with proof of concept.

My epiphany involves one or more of the following elements (1) DMD Texas instruments DLP2000evm, controlled by a raspberry pi or other suitable SBC, (2) Microlens array for fiber coupling from the free space lasers and decoupling to the mirror array and etc (3) rotating nipkow disk for the programming and timing generation, a "slicing" of the large monochromatic, single mode light provided by the humble laser pointer.