6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Mon May 13, 2024 3:40 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: 6502 PCB Power On Issues
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 10:28 am 

Hi All,

I had been following the series by Ben Eater on the 6502, Im a complete newbie but doing my best to learn.

I had it working on the breadboard at 1MHz, I designed a PCB for it, and had to harvest the parts from the breadboard as I only had one VIA, one 62256 etc.

The board works and displays text on the LCD, however if I power on via the on-board power switch (on the PCB) then it works fine 9/10 times, 1/10 times the screen is blank (just blocks, same as powering it unconnected to anything).

If if leave the on-board power switch enabled, and power cycle it via my bench PSU, it fails 100% of the time with the same issue.

Doing a bit of probing on the scope, I can see that the power draw is consistently 0.047A when it fails, and 0.053A when it works.

The frequency shown on the scope for the Address pins also changes, they are mostly around 100KHz when it fails, and they all differ (as expected) when it works.

I have a reset button that shows 0V at the RESET pin when button is pressed.

Schematic is here: https://github.com/djh82uk/6502-Computer/blob/main/Schematic_6502%20Computer_2021-06-30.png

Board is here: https://github.com/djh82uk/6502-Computer/blob/main/Board.JPEG

The brown jumper wires are issues I found and fixed for this revision.

Any advice welcome on anything really (but ideally about the problem :) )

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 11:42 am 

Well done! Graduating from breadboard to a PCB is a significant step.

Is it possible your computer is fine, but the LCD isn't starting? Can you for example check some voltages of I/Os, perhaps the inputs to the LCD, or check the frequencies of some address lines, or the SYNC line?