6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Thu May 16, 2024 9:42 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2020 11:07 pm 

Hi all!

Like quite a few people over the last few months I decided to use my new-found lockdown free time to take up some new hobbies, and revive some old ones. I studied electronics engineering at university back in the day, and in the back of my mind I always had plans to design and build my own 8-bit computer of some description.

I grew up with the BBC Micro, so it seemed natural that whatever I built would be 6502 based. I stumbled across Ben Eater's YouTube tutorials and used them to build my first breadboard-based computer. I've made some modifications, designed a keypad interface roughly based on the BBC's keyboard circuit. Completely over-engineered, but it was good fun to build. Throughout the build I have been learning 6502 assembly along the way.

I remember seeing the RC2014 a while back, and was very interested in it, but now I am firmly in the 6502 camp, so put those thoughts to one side. That is until I discovered that somebody had designed a 6502 CPU board for the RC2014! This is definitely something I could get onboard with.

I was wondering if people were able to point me in the right direction with regards to resources about using the 6502 with the RC2014. I know there are quite a few modules for the Z80, and far fewer for a 6502 machine. My assumption is that some of the basic RC2014 boards can work with a 6502 CPU, albeit with some modification, but what about the more complex boards?

Also, is anyone aware of any 'video cards' that have been designed for a 6502-based machine using the RC2014 backplane? While I am happy to connect the machine to my laptop using a serial connection, the dream would be to have it generate its own video signal.

Thanks in advance for any help!

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:36 am