6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Thu May 09, 2024 1:55 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 11:33 am 

Hi y'all,

I'm completely new to the 6502. However, I have some experience with Arduinos, AVRs, etc. I saw Ben Eater's videos and I think I understand about 60% of it. I'm still confused about the difference between the data bus and the address bus. So excuse me if I confuse between the two here. I would love an explanation on their difference.

The way I understand it, the 6502 reads from/writes to the data bus and other chips like the ROM, RAM and VIA react accordingly. Then, would this idea of mine work?

I am thinking of building a "programmer" of sorts. It will consist of 7-seg displays, a hex keypad, and logic. It will read whatever's on the data/adress buses, show it on the display, read my hex instructions from the keypad, and send it back to the 6502. I want it to work so that I can simply hook it up to the data bus and input some hex code. That way, I can do a kind of "live coding" thing. Sorry if my explanation sounds confusing. Again, I have no xp with the 6502!

Will my idea work? I'm not necessarily asking about how to build the module, but if whether I can simply "inject" data into the address bus with my "imaginary keypad module". I want to know if my understanding of the data/address bus is correct. I don't have any of the parts necessary to run this experiment myself.

Again, sorry if my question sounds confusing, and thanks for bearing with me. Cheers!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 12:16 pm 

Welcome!