6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Wed May 08, 2024 4:35 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: CC65 and the W65C134SXB
PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 2:20 am 

Hi All! I'm just getting started with 6502 assembly. I spent plenty of time with the apple IIe and the c64 when I was a kid. But, beyond a few PEEKs and POKEs, I never did any assembly. I've worked as a sysadmin and programmer (though not recently) but my knowledge was always pretty high-level. Now, I'm fixing that. :D

I picked up a W65C134SXB on the cheap and I've been playing around with it. My main problem is that I don't have any windows computers and WDC's tools are windows only. I run Linux and while I could probably get the tool set running under WINE, I can't see any reason I shouldn't be able to do it all natively. I got EasySXB up and running so I can connect to the 134 over it's serial interface. I've played around with the monitor a bit and it's pretty fun. I need to dig into the documentation a bit more, but I wanted to get something up and running first. It seems like CC65 (or in my case ca65) is the most popular environment for 6502 work and I need all the documentation I can get. EasySXB comes with and LED blink sample written for naken_asm. I ported it over to ca65 and assembled it. But, in order to link it into a binary, ld65 needs a memory map of the 134. It doesn't look super hard to generate one, but I thought I'd check if anyone else had done the heavy lifting before I dove in. Thanks!

tldr; Anyone have an ld65 compatible memory map of the W65C134SXB?

Any other tips for working with the 134 would be appreciated too!

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 9:50 am 

Welcome! I think you're on the right lines, and a recipe for a non-windows tooling would be a good thing to collect. But I'm afraid I can't help - someone will surely be along in due course.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 11:49 am 

rclancy wrote: