6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 10:33 am

All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12  Next
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 5:20 pm 

Hello everyone,
I am a Spanish EE student and this is my first post in this forum.

I am designing a 6502 inspired cpu in Logisim, with the intention of building my design with ttl ic's later on. My primary goal is learning about computer architecture, assembly programming etc.

I have a basic model that can execute some instructions using immediate and zero-page addressing modes, but I'm stuck at implementing absolute addressing. I don't see how the two address bytes following a certain instruction can be loaded into the address bus registers, as loading the first byte changes the address that is being read, making it impossible to read the following byte. An intermediate register of some sort seems to be needed, but I am unable to identify that on 6502's block diagram (viewtopic.php?t=1744) nor find information on the subject.
Any ideas/documentation on the subjects? Thank you.

Last edited by JuanGg on Wed Nov 27, 2019 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:48 pm 

Welcome! We can usually answer questions like these with the help of visual6502. What I would guess is that the ALU will be used - it often acts as a temporary holding place. In effect it's a pipeline register which can be used as a temporary.

And yes, this seems to be the case:
http://www.visual6502.org/JSSim/expert. ... 8e0403eaea

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 4:46 pm